homepage logo

4,000 Fans Pack the Track

By Staff | Jun 10, 2015

Photo by Zach Yost Tyler Speedway fans lined the track to get autographs from their favorite drivers at the Pack The Track June 6 at Tyler Speedway.

The Hometown Racing Association presented “Pack the Track” Night at Tyler County Speedway and a staggering and record 4,000 fans arrived at the ‘Bullring’ for a FREE Night of action. The crowd is believed to be the largest in the speedway history for a non multi-day major event. Lots of smiles and memories were made as fans were greeted to a well ran show featuring 110 competitors with Derek Doll, Derek Rogers, Bird Wilson, Travis Thomas, Jeff Fornash, Bill Tennnant and Roo Roo Dotson all picking up wins. The capacity crowd was filled with families and kids who enjoyed a mega bike giveaway and family autograph night at intermission. Impressed by the large turnout promoter John Watson invited all back next week for just $5 if you bring your armband back as its “Turn Back the Clock” Night.

Greenwood, WV’s Derek Doll would grab the win in the J&R Excavating Super Late Model division presented by Midcap Land and Timber. The third starting Doll would hound early race leader Paul Wilmoth lap after lap with a lapped car causing some tense moments as the leaders battled hard with Wilmoth on the high side and Doll working the bottom. Misfortune would strike Wilmoth as a flat tire would send the leader pit side turning the lead over to a fast Doll. Doll would distance himself from the pack to claim the popular win. Seventh starting Butch McGill would claw his way into the runner up position ahead of Steve Weigle, Billy Brown and Daniel Hill.

Shawn Jett would set a blistering pace leading the Peoples Bank FASTRAK division in the early stages but a charging Derek Rogers working the bottom of the speedway would roll past Jett taking the lead. While Rogers would set sail a ferocious battle between Jett and past winners Robbie Scott and Kyle Thomas would thrill fans. But at the checkered it was Derek Rogers picking up his second win of the season followed by Jett, Scott, Kyle Thomas and Danny Thomas.

In a very entertaining Two Brothers Motorsports Modified main event it was Sistersville, WV’s Bird Wilson claiming another win. Wilson would hold off a pesky and hard charging Lance Elson as the duo were blasting around the speedway cushion lap after lap. Elson waiting on Wilson to make a mistake but the veteran of the ‘Bullring’ would drive a flawless race holding off Elson, Junior Nolan, Gerald Deitch and Mark Dickson for the win.

In a very hotly contested Hotmod main event it was young Stevi Magyar leading the way from her pole position by her virtue of bringing the most fans to the speedway. But early race leader Kenny Isner had victory in sight but 3rd starting Travis Thomas would eventually pass Isner and go on the claim his 1st win of the season in the familiar blue and white #18. A classic 3 car battle would rage for the runner up position between Mick Baker, Chad Smith and Isner but when the dust settled it was Mick Baker claiming the bridesmaid position over Isner, Smith and Lou Ennis.

Jeff Fornash of Salem, WV would dominate the Modlite main event besting Josh Baldwin, Jim Ruckman, Mitch Ward and Gabe Phillips.

Bill Tennant of Colliers, WV has put a stranglehold on the FWD 4 Cylinder division. Tennant would lead Donnie Wamsley, Robert Frohnapfel, John Sinnett and Mike Frazier across the stripe.

It was Roo Roo Dotson picking up a very popular win and her 1st ever victory in the MWRA Mini Wedge division. The young racer outlasted Dalton Anderson, Jacob Ice, Brady Reed and Kylie Cross across the line.

Join us next Saturday Night, June 14th as Tyler County Speedway host “Turn Back the Clock” Night as $1 dogs and $.50 cent popcorn await hungry fans. Also in appreciation of the speedway’s 40th Anniversary season if you were born in 1974, the tracks first year of operation, admission is FREE.

Plus bring your general admission armband back from ‘Pack the Track Night’ and get your seat for just $5. All classes will be in action as its Midseason Championship (double points) along with a King of the Kounty event for the FASTRAK, Hotmod and Modlite divisions.

June 7th Results:

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature: Derek Doll, Butch McGill, Steve Weigle, Billy Brown, Daniel Hill, Sonny Conley, Greg Baumberger, Donnie Dotson, Bryan Casey, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Ken Beal

Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Model Feature: Derek Rogers, Shawn Jett, Robbie Scott, Kyle Thomas, Danny Thomas, Joel Prosser, Ryan Payne, Travis Brown, John Sheets, Troy Frazier, Chuck Kimball, Brian Baumberger, Tyler Stutler, Kenny Rucker, Kris Southern, Jamie America, Cody Rogers, Bill Shaffer, Andy Brown, Brandon Francis, Todd Chicklo

Two Brothers Motorsports Modified Feature: Bird Wilson, Lance Elson, Junior Nolan, Gerald Deitch, Mark Dickson, Travis Dickson, Kurt Burge, Tony Tatgenhorst, Kevin Dotson, Codi Eaton, Ron Deitch

Hotmod Feature: Travis Thomas, Mick Baker, Kenny Isner, Chad Smith, Lou Ennis, Cody Brightwell, Levi Flesher, Stevi Magyar, Tim Pennell, Jim Dudley, Brandon Weigle, Steve Magyar, Curtis Watson, CJ Dotson, Allen Moore, Buddy Kotson, Brian Clegg, Josh Gump, Tiffany Jackson, Daniel Muldrew, Chris Thomas, Josh Sigler

Modlite Feature: Jeff Fornash, Josh Baldwin, Jim Ruckman, Mitch Ward, Gabe Phillips, Ryan Harris, Daniel Eddy, Ryan Saffell, Brandon Fluharty, Glenn Teter, Travis Harper, Trey Watson, Kenny Harris, Scott Perine, Matt Ward, Troy Gum, Troy Collins, DNS Tom Keplinger

FWD 4 Cylinder Feature: Bill Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Robert Frohnapfel, John Sinnett, Mike Frazier, Jason Frazier, Clifford Flanigan, Steve Frazier, Scott Critchfield, Tyler Mosser

MWRA Mini Wedge Feature: Roo Roo Dotson, Dalton Anderson, Jacob Ice, Brady Reed, Kylie Cross, Phillip Bubeck, Tristen Boskoski, Garrett Jones, Tyler Tennant, Raiden Childers, Mackenzie Perine, Madison Hamilton, Harli Rush, Dalton America, Donnie Wamsley, Kyle Keplinger, Elizabeth Conley, Levi Jones, Tripp Perine (Trophies provided by Dudley Racing)

About the Tyler County Speedway: Located in the scenic WV hills, the Tyler County Speedway is located just 4 miles south of Middlebourne, on State Route 18 at the Fairgrounds approximately an hour from Wheeling, Clarksburg & Parkersburg. Tyler County Speedway is considered by fans, drivers and industry insiders to be one of the raciest tracks in the nation and has been dubbed the ‘Bullring’ with three and four wide racing action being the norm not the exception.

Tyler County Speedway annually hosts some of the largest and most popular events in the Ohio Valley region! National and regional touring series such as the World of Outlaw Late Model Series, Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour, FASTRAK Racing Series and much more appear frequently. In addition to the incredible Special Event lineup, the Tyler County Speedway Weekly Racing Series consists of the Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models, Open Wheel Modifieds, Hotmods, ModLites, FWD 4 Cylinders and MWRA Mini Wedges on Saturday Nights April thru September. For additional information regarding the 40th Anniversary Season at the Tyler County Speedway follow us online at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com, phone the track office at 304-771-6874 or 304-771-5661 or on raceday at 304-758-2660.