homepage logo

Knight and Wildcat squads to compete at WesBanco

By Staff | Feb 4, 2015

The 24th annual OVAC Cheering Competition will be held on Feb. 7 at the WesBanco Arena in Wheeling. Twenty-nine schools will be competing in five divisions. Doors open to the public at 8:30 a.m. and the competition will begin at 9:30 a.m.

The day will start with the class AA division: Cameron, Shadyside, Wheeling Central, Clay-Battelle, Toronto, and Bridgeport; class AAA will follow with: Monroe Central, Barnesville, Tyler, Magnolia, River, Linsly, and Bellaire.

The morning session of competition will conclude with class A: St. Johns, Beallsville, Madonna, Bishop Donahue, Paden City, and Conotton Valley.

Winners of the Jr OVAC competition, who competed earlier in the year, will then perform: Toronto Middle School and Wellsburg Middle School. Awards for 2A, 3A and 1A will be presented.

The afternoon session should start around 1:30 p.m. with 5A: Steubenville, John Marshall, Indian Creek, Weir, Parkersburg South, and Wheeling Park. 4A will round out the competition with: Martins Ferry, St. Clairsville, Oak Glen, and Harrison Central. Triadelphia Middle School will perform followed by 5A and 4A awards.

Defending Champions are as follows: 2A Wheeling Central, 3A Linsly, 1A Bishop Donahue, 5A Wheeling Park and 4A St, Clairsville. Cost is $6 for adults and $4 for students.

Cheerleaders representing Tyler Consolidated and Paden City High Schools will compete at the 2015 OVAC Cheerleading Championships with the Knights competing in class AAA and the Wildcats in class A.

Members of the Tyler Consolidated cheerleading squad coached by Stefanie Suter and Lacie Strode will include: seniors – Brooke Keys, Laken Miller, Sierra Mace, and Megan Wilson; juniors – Jayme Jeffers and Katlyn Seckman; sophomores – Tessa Boyd, Shayla Griffey, Lexi Jenkins, Devann McCoy, Brooklyn Pittman, Taylor Vandruff and Seminole Weekley; and freshmen – Autumn Kunkel and Scotlyn Straight. The alternate for the team is sophomore, Megan Miller.

Paden City High School’s 2015 OVAC competition cheerleading squad coached by Kim Hizer and Michelle Gorby, is made up of nine members: Tori Anderson, Kayla Hizer, Hannah Stanley, Desiree Heasley, Madison Kelly, Abby Still, Jenna Arnett, Katrina Heasley and Malayna Price.

The competition will consist of each squad incorporating cheers, dances and sideline cheers within a three-minute time period in front of five judges and two safety judges. Partner stunts, pyramids, mounts etc. are not permitted.

Fans are encouraged to attend the competition to cheer on the squads.