homepage logo

Racing precedes fair’s start

By Staff | Aug 6, 2014

A giant night of three-wide racing action kicked off the 52nd annual Tyler County Fair in grand fashion as the Bullring played host to a packed pit area of 146 eager racers.

Highlighting the jam-packed night was the traditional Bud Weigle Memorial for Super Late Models with Stevie Wilmoth picking up his first win of the season.

The 10th edition of the prestigious Dickson Classic the Renegades of Dirt brought the East’s best open wheel warriors to the Middlebourne oval and it was Jake Hawkins aboard the Two Brothers Motorsports entry grabbing his first Dickson Classic and Renegade Tour win.

Also on the card was the second appearance of the FASTRAK NE Tour and picking up his first FASTRAK Touring event was Derek Rogers. Also grabbing wins were Chad Smith in the Hotmod division.

Jeff Fornash would pick up his third win in a row in the Modlite main event, while Bill Tennant would grab his ninth win in the 4 cylinder division and young Kylie Cross would kick off the night with a last lap pass in the MWRA Mini Wedge Main.

Coming up next at the Tyler County Speedway will be the rescheduled running of the 26th annual Earl Hill Memorial paying $10,000 to win on Saturday, Aug. 23. Along with the Earl Hill Memorial will be the Season Championship for all other classes.

For more information visit us on the web at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com or contact Promoter John Watson at 304-771-6874.


J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Bud Weigle Memorial: Steve Wilmoth, Mike Smith, Daniel Hill, Mike Benedum, Sonny Conley, Butch McGill, Steve Weigle, Billy Brown, Greg Baumberger, Jeff Burdette, Colten Burdette, John Vandale, Brett Benedum, Jared Hawkins, Mike Taylor, Derek Doll, Tom Keplinger, Dan Morrison, Travis Brown, and Austin Eddy.

Peoples Bank FASTRAK NE Tour: Derek Rogers, Kyle Thomas, Shawn Jett, Aaron Barley, David Smith, Kris Southern, Brandon McGrady, Danny Thomas, James Watson, Bobby Rohrer, Joel Prosser, Ryan Payne, Brandon Francis, Kenny Rucker, Alden Butcher, Cody Rogers, Bill Shaffer, Eddie Starkey, Joe Martin, Tyler Stutler, John Sheets, Joe Bowie, and Andy Brown.

Two Brother Motorsports Modified Renegade of Dirt 10th annual Dickson Classic Feature: Jake Hawkins, Taylor Cook, Rich Michael, Kyle Strickler, KC Burdette, Brent Trimble, DJ Cline, Jess Hartman, Lance Elson, Bird Wilson, Deana Groves, Tyler Evans, Tyler Nicely, Jason Brookover, John Burdette, Vince Conrad, Mark Dickson, Travis Dickson, Nick Corbitt, Gerald Deitch DNS: Robbie Evans, Mike Conkle, John Sluka, Tim Rager, Tony Tatgenhorst, Michael Stevens, Kurt Burge, Chris Dickson, Codi Eaton, John Powell, and Booger Garnes.

Hotmod Feature: Chad Smith, Darren Glover, Kenny Isner, Travis Thomas, Lou Ennis, Chris Thomas, Brian Clegg, Levi Flesher, Brandon Weigle, Tim Pennell, Steve Magyar, Daniel Muldrew, Jeff Gorrell, Brad Dickson, Steven Dotson, Steven West, Mick Baker, Curtis Watson, Cody Brightwell and Allen Moore.

Modlite Feature: Jeff Fornash, Josh Baldwin, DJ Miller, Jim Ruckman, Randy Kerns, Tom Keplinger, Brandon Fluharty, AJ Spagnuolo, Ryan Saffell, Matt Ward, Daniel Eddy, Glenn Teter, Troy Collins, Tony Cavicchia, Cody Anderson, Trey Watson, Scott Perine, Gabe Phillips, Cole Petrelle, and Beau Newlon.

4-Cylinder Feature: Bill Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Scott Critchfield, Jason Frazier, Roland Bell, Ivan Wamsley, Mike Frazier, Steve Frazier, and Robert Frohnapel.