Hunter course set
The Young Ethical Sportsmen will sponsor a Hunter Safety Education Class in cooperation with the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources, Law Enforcement Section, at the Alma Fire Hall, Aug. 16-17. Hours are Saturday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, 1 – 5 p.m.
Individuals taking this class must be at least 10 years of age to be certified. Those that are age 12 years or younger must be accompanied by a parent or adult legal guardian. Everyone must provide Social Security numbers and proof of age to be certified.
All persons born on or after Jan. 1, 1975, must be certified to be eligible to obtain a West Virginia Hunting License. You must carry your Hunter Education Certification card, a State Photo ID, all required licenses, tags, and written permission from the landowner, on your person at all times while hunting.
Everyone must be pre-registered, no exceptions. The class is free, but space is limited. To register call 304-758-4374. Topics to be covered at the classes will include: firearms safety in the home and field, firearm actions, ethics and safety, hunting regulations, and survival.