homepage logo

Earl Hill Memorial up next at TC Speedway

By Staff | Jul 23, 2014

The race of the year, the one every race fan circles on the schedule, the Earl Hill Memorial is about to write another chapter as the latest version of the Tyler County Speedway classic will roll off unsanctioned and bigger than ever Saturday Night, July 26.

Tyler County Speedway has long prided itself and showcased the best area and regional racers in the tri-state area and on Saturday night, the Hometown Racing Association will welcome all true outlaw super late model racers to the biggest Earl Hill Memorial in Tyler County Speedways history.

The unsanctioned event will showcase the Bullring’s Super Late Model division in what is expected to be a stellar field of speedway favorites and regional racers in a ‘Bullring Battle Royale’ not to be missed. No sanction fees, no entry fees, no provisionals, just the region’s bravest drivers up on the wheel putting on a show for the fans . . . Tyler County style! A stout $10,000 to win first prize will welcome eager racers with $500 awaiting those who start the 80 lap Earl Hill Memorial.

A long time speedway mainstay on the Tyler County Speedway schedule will see the powerful Super Late Models hit the highbanks of the Bullring in search of the prestigious 26th annual Earl Hill Memorial title. The race is in honor of the late great Earl Hill, best known for his red polka dot hat, mustache, bright smile, and his domination of the speedway in the 70’s and 80’s. Earl Hill had well over 300 career feature wins to his credit, while also picking up numerous track championships at Tyler and throughout the mid-Ohio Valley region. Race fans are encouraged to dust off those vintage red polka dot caps in honor of the man that made Tyler County Speedway his personal playground during his outstanding driver career.

Last year’s event saw Paul Wilmoth Jr. of Clarksburg, W.Va., aboard the infamous B1 ‘Gambler’ roll from his 14th starting spot to pick up his first ever Earl Hill Memorial at Tyler County Speedway. Other past winners of the prestigious event include Jared Miley, Jared Hawkins, Zack Dohm, Tim Dohm, Mike Benedum, Robbie Scott, Bobby Hill, Butch McGill, Gary Dalton, DJ Cline, Tim Hitt, Bob Adams Jr., Mike Hawkins, and Bobby Davison.

Saturday’s 26th annual Earl Hill Memorial Payout: $10,000, $5,000, $2,500, $2,000, $1,800, $1,400, $1,200, $1,000, $800, $700, $600, $575, $535, $525, $515, $500, $500, 500, $500, $500. Starting 20 cars. Tow Money = $100 – No Entry Fee!

Don’t forget Friday Night, July 25, at the Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex it’s the Ernie Jones Memorial featuring Twin Topless Super Late Model Races paying $2,200 to win.

A complete program of JJK Mineral MWRA Mini Wedges, Two Brothers Motorsports Modifieds, Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models, Hotmods, Modlites and FWD 4 Cylinders will also be in action. General admission is just $20, with pit passes at $35, children 10 and under free. Gates open at 4 p.m., MWRA Mini Wedges get underway at 6:15 p.m. with hotlaps/qualifying beginning at 7 p.m. For more information contact John Watson at 304-771-6874 or visit www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com