homepage logo

Jett and Fritter grab 1st wins of season

By Staff | Jul 2, 2014

Shawn Jett grabbed his first win of the season at Tyler County Speedway on Saturday.

After a week off, the Tyler County Speedway roared back into action as the Annual Legends Night was on tap and a pit full of 113 race cars hit the ‘Bullring’ to pay homage to their heroes. Picking up season first wins were Shawn Jett and Tracy Fritter while Sonny Conley and Travis Thomas notched their second checkered flags of the season with perennial winners Bird Wilson, Bill Tennant, and Brady Reed also grabbing victory. A very popular win was picked up by Robbie Thomas in the Legends race as the former speedway great showed no rust in wheeling his borrowed hotmod to victory.

It was all New Martinsville’s Sonny Conley making a clean sweep in picking up his second J&R Excavating Super Late Model presented by Midcap Land & Timber main event. Conley would set fast time, vault from his sixth starting spot in the dash to claim the win and dominate the feature event. Conley would lead Steve Wilmoth (in his 2014 maiden voyage at the “Bullring”), Butch McGill, Steve Weigle, and Donnie Dotson across the line.

Sistersville’s Bird Wilson would go from wrecker to checker in an unbelievable turn of events that would see the Modified Hall of Famer be carried off on the double hook after a dash incident. A lot of thrashing pitside and a lot help from other teams would see the blue #20 make the call for the start of the Two Brothers Motorsports Modified main event. Wilson would claw his way from the sixth starting spot and grab the lead when race-long leader Donnie Nething slowed entering turn one with motor issues. Once Wilson was in front he managed to hold off last race winner Junior Nolan and season best performances from Cody Eaton, Kurt Burge, and Tony Tatgenhorst to pick up his third win of the season.

Shawn Jett of Salem, W.Va., would garner his first win of the season in the Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Model division. Jett, aboard the ASC/ Slicks Detail Shop/ Slicks Laundromat 1J Rocket ,would hold off all challengers in picking up the popular win. Behind Jett was a spirited race-long battle among Joel Prosser, Danny Thomas, and Kyle Thomas as the pack battled in and out of lap traffic throughout the main event. Following Jett were Prosser, Danny Thomas, Kyle Thomas, and Derek Rogers in the highly competitive division.

Twenty-three Modlites would take to the ‘Bullring’ with Tracy Fritter of Zanesville, Ohio, picking up his season’s first win. A rough and tumble main would see the field come to an abrupt halt after a grinding crash on the front stretch catching up to eight cars in the melee including many front runners. Once the race resumed it was Fritter pacing the field with Travis Holmes dogging the leader lap after lap. As the lead duo were heading out of four toward the checker, contact was made between Holmes and Fritter, sending Fritter spinning. Officials would reward Fritter with the win. Fritter pilots his own Eliminator chassis/ Extreme Motorsports machine and bested Randy Kerns, Jim Ruckman, Tom Keplinger, and Gabe Phillips across the line.

A terrific Hotmod main event would see Middle-bourne’s Travis Thomas pick up his second feature win of the season. Thomas would have to work high and low in trying to get around race long leader Mick Baker. With a couple laps to go Thomas would use the highside to his advantage to grab the lead and the win. A tight battle behind would see Baker, Chad Smith, Kenny Isner, and Levi Flesher round out the top five.

Collier, W.Va.’s Bill Tennant would continue his hot streak as he would go on to win his fourth consecutive 4 Cylinder feature and sixth of the season. Tennant would beat Donnie Wamsley, Robert Frohn-apfel, Jason Frazier and Scott Critchfield across the line.

Brady Reed would win a very close and competitive JJK Mineral Mini Wedge feature over Dalton Anderson, Kylie Cross, Roo Roo Dotson, and Steve Frazier.

Coming up next week a double header of excitement will kick off with a Friday Night, July 4, special as the Monster Trucks return to the Tyler County Speedway. Be sure to bring the kids as the mighty monster machines of the Equalizer, Red Solo Truck, and Bad News Travels Fast will partake in car crushing action. Also on the card will be the Mini Wedge National Championship, Hotmods, Modlites, and 4 Cylinders. Gates open at 4 p.m., with racing getting underway at 7 p.m. General admission is just $15, pits $20, children 7-12 $5, kids 6 and under free. For more information contact 304-771-6874 or visit them on the web at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.

Saturday Night, July 5, the track will pay tribute to the armed forces as they salute our troops with a full show of racing action featuring the J&R Excavating Super Late Models, Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models, Two Brothers Motorsports Modifieds, Modlites, Hotmods, 4 Cylinders, and MWRA Mini Wedges.

Saturday Night, June 28th Results:

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber: Sonny Conley, Steve Wilmoth, Butch McGill, Steve Weigle, Donnie Dotson, Mark Banal

Two Brothers Motorsports Modified Feature: Bird Wilson, Junior Nolan, Cody Eaton, Kurt Burge, Tony Tatgenhorst, Kevin Dotson, Ron Deitch, Donnie Nething, Josh Sigler, Michael Stevens, Gerald Deitch, Brian Rush, Devin Verardi, Cody Henthorn

Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Model Feature: Shawn Jett, Joel Prosser, Danny Thomas, Kyle Thomas, Derek Rogers, Travis Brown, Brandon McGrady, Joe Bowie, Mike Griffin, Tyler Stutler, Troy Frazier, Dusty Swecker, Andy Brown, Ryan Payne, Jerry Brown, Jonathan Sheets, Chris Zickafoose, Cody Rogers, Eric Foster

Hotmod Feature: Travis Thomas, Mick Baker, Chad Smith, Kenny Isner, Levi Flesher, Curtis Watson, Brad Dickson, Cody Brightwell, Lou Ennis, Stevi Magyar, Daniel Muldrew, Jim Dudley, Darrin Glover, Brian Clegg, Lindsey Smarr, Chris Thomas, Josh Gump, Tiffany Jackson, Rocky Mayle, Steve Magyar, Steven Dotson DNS: Allen Moore, Brandon Weigle

Modlite Feature: Tracy Fritter, Randy Kerns, Jim Ruckman, Tom Keplinger, Gabe Phillips, Ryan Baker, Matt Ward, AJ Spagnoulo, Troy Collins, Troy Gum, Travis Holmes, Trey Watson, Mitch Ward, Daniel Eddy, Travis Harper, Scott Perine, Brandon Fluharty, Tyler Frankenberry, Joe Burkhead, Terry Williams, Jeff Fornash, Kathleen Harris, Ryan Saffell DNS: Kenny Harris

4 Cylinder Feature: Bill Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Robert Frohnapfel, Jason Frazier, Scott Critchfield, Ivan Wamsley, Steve Frazier, Tyler Mosser, Clifford Flanigan

JJK Mineral Mini Wedge Feature: Brady Reed, Dalton Anderson, Kylie Cross, Roo Roo Dotson, Steve Frazier, 13 H, Garrett Jones, Tyler Tennant, Raiden Childers, Levi Jones, Jacob Ice, Action Jackson, Dalton America, Kyle Keplinger, Caleb Nolan, Tripp Perine, Mackenzie Perine