homepage logo

‘Turn back the clock’ night at the track

By Staff | Jun 18, 2014

Junior Nolan

Another huge crowd welcomed 115 eager racers to the ‘Bullring’ as the Hometown Racing Association presented ‘Turn Back the Clock Night’ Saturday. Dollar Dogs and 50-cent popcorn served as appetizers, but it was Mike Benedum, Kyle Thomas, Junior Nolan, Mick Baker, Mitch Ward, Bill Tennant, and Kylie Cross who served up the main course in picking up feature wins at the Tyler County Speedway.

It was all Salem, W.Va.’s Mike Benedum driving the BSI Well Service/ Blackrock Enterprises #25 to a convincing win in the J&R Excavating Super Late Model presented by Midcap Land and Timber A Main event. Benedum would chalk up win #1 of the season at the ‘Bullring’ and bested Derek Doll, Steve Weigle, Butch McGill, and Sonny Conley in the process.

2013 FASTRAK Champion Kyle Thomas of Pennsboro, W.Va., would lay claim to his fourth Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Model win of the season. Thomas pilots the Powells and Sons Farm/Thomas and AJ Logging/Dodd’s Sporting Goods/ Slicks Auto Detailing Rocket machine. Following Thomas across the stripe was Shawn Jett, Joel Prosser, Danny Thomas, and Troy Frazier. Kyle Thomas picked up the King of the Kounty win over Joel Prosser.

It was only appropriate that on Turn Back the Clock Night, St. Clairsville, Ohio’s Junior Nolan did just that. The former track champion and veteran racer hadn’t won a Two Brothers Motorsports Modified feature event at the ‘Bullring’ since 2008. The semi-retired Nolan showed little rust in displacing race long leader Mike ‘Bird’ Wilson with a daring high side pass. Nolan would lead Wilson, Codi Eaton, Gerald Deitch, and Kurt Burge across the line.

Shinnston, W.Va.’s Mitch Ward would notch win #3 of the season in the Modlite division. Newcomer Travis Holmes would look poised to pick up his first ever Tyler County Speedway win, but a late race caution and a great restart by Ward would be all the driver of the 862 needed in picking up the victory. Following Ward and Holmes across the line were Tom Keplinger, Beau Newlon, and Gabe Philips. Travis Holmes won the King of the Kounty event over Jeff Fornash.

Kylie Cross

Mick Baker of Middlebourne would pick up his second win of the season in the Hotmod division. The driver of the Swiger Oil and Gas/ Doug’s Custom Vinyl/ Autozone #47 would hold off a hard charging Travis Thomas to earn the hotly contested win. Following Baker and Thomas were Cody Brightwell, Chad Smith, and Chris Ice. Travis Thomas would pick up the King of the Kounty win ahead of Chad Smith.

Leading all Tyler County Speedway racers with win #5 was Collier, W.Va.’s Bill Tennant in the FWD 4 Cylinder division. Tennant has found a home in the ‘Bullring’ victory lane once again and finished ahead of Donnie Wamsley, Robert Frohnapfel, Mike Frazier, and Scott Critchfield.

Kylie Cross earned the hard-fought win in the JJK Mineral MWRA Mini Wedge Feature. The youth league of auto racing saw 20 youngsters take the green. Cross would pick up the popular win ahead of Brady Reed, Roo Roo Dotson, Dalton Anderson, and Steve Frazier.

Coming next Saturday Night, June 21, is the 13th annual Eaton/Childers King of the Ring, Twin $1,500 to win Super Late Model Main Events featuring a complete invert for the second feature.

Last year, Paul Wilmoth claimed both features. Previous winners of the Eaton/Childers King of the Ring include three-time winner Paul Wilmoth Jr., Ricky Williams, Zack Dohm, Eddie Carrier Jr., Rick Aukland, Mike Balzano, Steve Shaver, Steve Wilmoth, and two time winner Bobby Hill. Gates open at 4 p.m., MWRA Mini Wedges get underway at 6:15 p.m., with hotlaps/qualifying getting underway at 7 p.m. General admission is $15, pits $35 and children 10 and under free. For more information contact John Watson at 304-771-6874.

Turn Back The Clock Night, Saturday June 14th Feature Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Model presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature: Mike Benedum, Derek Doll, Steve Weigle, Butch McGill, Sonny Conley, Greg Baumberger, Paul Wilmoth

Peoples Bank FASTRAK Feature: Kyle Thomas, Shawn Jett, Joel Prosser, Danny Thomas, Troy Frazier, Cody Rogers, Brett Benedum, Brandon Francis, Ryan Payne, Jonathan Sheets, Brian Baumberger, Dusty Swecker, Kenny Rucker, Andy Brown, Jamie America, Derek Rogers, Chuck Kimball, Eric Foster, Greg Hicks DNS: Robbie Scott, Daniel Hill

Two Brothers Motorsports Modified Feature: Junior Nolan, Bird Wilson, Codi Eaton, Gerald Deitch, Kurt Burge, Brian Rush, Josh Friend, Nick Wilson, Cody Henthorn, Tony Tatgenhorst, Kevin Dotson DNS: Ron Deitch, Shawn Davis

Modlite Feature: Mitch Ward, Travis Holmes, Tom Keplinger, Beau Newlon, Gabe Philips, Matt Ward, Ryan Baker, Jim Ruckman, Troy Gum, Trey Watson, Travis Harper, Scott Perine, James Landers, Ryan Saffell, Daniel Eddy, Jeff Fornash, Bob Stackpole, Kenny Harris, Brandon Fluharty, Troy Collins, Josh Baldwin

Hotmod Feature: Mick Baker, Travis Thomas, Cody Brightwell, Chad Smith, Chris Ice, Brandon Weigle, Steve Magyar, Allen Moore, Daniel Muldrew, Jay Smarr, Josh Gump, Tim Pennell, Brian Clegg, Tiffany Jackson, Stevi Magyar, CJ Dotson, Kenny Isner, Levi Flesher, Lou Ennis, Chris Thomas, Curtis Watson

4 Cylinder Feature: Bill Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Robert Frohnapfel, Mike Frazier, Scott Critchfield, Billy Bunnell, Jason Frazier, Steve Frazier, Tyler Mosser, Clifford Flanigan

JJK Mineral MWRA Mini Wedge Feature: Kylie Cross, Brady Reed, Roo Roo Dotson, Dalton Anderson, Steve Frazier, Philip Bubeck, Jacob Ice, Levi Jones, Garrett Jones, Kyle Keplinger, Noah Bubeck, Dalton America, Harli Rush, Elizabeth Conley, Tripp Perine, Madison Hamilton, Mackenzie Perine, Raiden Childers, Caleb Nolan, Tyler Tennant (Trophies by Tweed’s Trucking)

Located in the scenic West Virginia hills, the Tyler County Speedway is located just four miles south of Middlebourne on state Route 18 at the Fairgrounds approximately an hour from Wheeling, Clarksburg, and Parkersburg.

Tyler County Speedway is considered by fans, drivers, and industry insiders to be one of the raciest tracks in the nation and has been dubbed the “Bullring” with three- and four-wide racing action being the norm not the exception.