homepage logo

Huge night of action to close 2013 season at Tyler County Speedway

By Staff | Sep 11, 2013

As another successful season comes to a close at the Tyler County Speedway, the Hometown Racing Association saved the best for last. A monstrous night at the Bullring will see the curtain close on one of the most competitive seasons to date and Saturday Night, Sept. 14 will be no exception as the 25th Annual Earl Hill Memorial and the 9th Annual Dickson Classic will highlight the night.

A long time speedway mainstay on the schedule will see the areas best Super Late Models hit the highbanks of the Bullring in search of the prestigious 25th Annual Earl Hill Memorial title. A healthy $3,000 kitty will await the winner in victory lane as he adds his name to a long list of impressive winners. A race in honor of the late great Earl Hill, best known for his red polka dot hat, mustache and bright smile and his domination of the speedway in the 70’s and 80’s. Earl Hill had well over 300 career feature wins to his credit while also picking up numerous track championships at Tyler and throughout the mid-Ohio Valley region. Past winners of the race include two years in a row Jared Miley, Jared Hawkins, Zach Dohm, Tim Dohm, Mike Benedum, Robbie Scott, Bobby Hill, Butch McGill, Gary Dalton, DJ Cline, Tim Hitt, Bob Adams Jr., and Mike Hawkins.

Also on the awesome card will be the return of the Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour in the running of the $3,000 to win 9th Annual Dickson Classic for the Two Brothers Motorsports Modifieds. Once again after three failed attempts because of mother nature the popular open wheel warriors of the Renegade tour will look to wage war on the Bullring for the second time this season. The last time the Renegades rode into town it was young North Carolina hotshoe Nick Hoffman grabbing the cash in the Let it Ride 55. A strong field is expected including current point leader and National Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer Rick Aukland as he tries to hold off the best to claim his first Renegade crown. Last years running of the Annual Dickson Classic seen history as Deana Groves would grab the 8th Annual event and a very popular win.

The Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models will also run as $1100 will be on the line by way of a $500 bounty placed on beating Kyle Thomas along with the $600 1st place pay. The young Pennsboro racer has been unstoppable at the Bullring picking up five wins in a row and a track championship.

Also on the card will be the $500 to win, twice rained out running of the Hotmod Bully Dog 500. A can’t miss event that will see the growing class make a pit stop at the halfway point and change a tire!

The Chris Metz State Farm Insurance Modlite division will end their season with $500 bucks on the line and the kids Wells Inn Mini Wedge class will kick off the night.

Make your plans now to attend the final race of the season at the Tyler County Speedway as we crown the 2013 Earl Hill Memorial, Dickson Classic and Hotmod Bully Dog Champions plus see a complete show of FASTRAK late models, modlites and mini wedges as we close out the 2013 season.

Note earlier start times as gates open at 3 p.m., mini wedges begin at 5 p.m., drivers meeting at 5:30 with hotlaps and qualifications getting underway at 6. General admission is $20 with children 10 and under are free, pit admission is $35.

For more information call 304-758-6874 or 304-758-2660 on raceday or visit us at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.