homepage logo

Wilmoth picks up Family Feast win

By Staff | May 1, 2013

Paul Wilmoth Jr. earned his first win of the season in the Super Late Models at the Tyler County Speedway

With mother-nature turning the thermometer up after last week’s bone chilling season opener, race fans were greeted to a much warmer night of racing action at the Tyler County Speedway.

It was Fast Family Feast Night and Gold Rush for the Kids, so while the kids were busy feasting and panning for gold it was Paul Wilmoth, Deanna Groves, Kyle Thomas, Travis Thomas, Rick Ament, and Jacob Ice striking it rich on the track. Another smooth and efficient 19 race program was run off in a little over three hours on the lightning quick speed-way and had the final checkered flag of the evening waving at 10:30 p.m..

In the J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber it was the “Gambler” Paul Wilmoth Jr. from Clarksburg, WV aboard the infamous B1 overtaking early race leader Sonny Conley to pull away for his first victory of the season. Wilmoth, once in the lead would cruise aboard the Midcap Land and Timber/Adkins Timber/Quick Time Suspension/NAPA Barry Wright mount in the last tuneup before this week’s prestigious 19th Annual Topless 50. Completing the top five on super fast race track was Sonny Conley, who made an incredible move on the initial start as he blasted around the high side passing three cars to set the early pace before falling to second. Finishing third was Butch McGill, Scott Irvin in a very impressive run and Steve Weigle.

The lightning quick 25 lap Late Model main event was ran in just seven minutes from green to checker.

Making it two in a row was Pennsboro, WV’s Kyle Thomas in the Peoples Bank FASTRAK late model division. Thomas would hold on over a charging Danny Thomas in the caution marred event. Rounding out the top five were Bill Shaffer, Brandon McGrady and Kris Southern. Thomas was aboard the familiar #32 Grover, ASC, Joy’s Disposal, Dodd’s Sporting Goods, NAPA, Thomas & AJ Logging mount.

In the EDGE Hotmods it was last years track champion and EDGE Hotmod National Champion Travis Thomas garnering his first win of the early season aboard the Norman Jackson Trucking, Sigler Fabrication #18.

After a long week of hard work putting his car back together after a hard crash at the West Virginia Motor Speedway the previous week, many wondered if the reigning track champ would even race let alone sit in victory lane. Thomas was quick to thank Sigler Fabrication in victory lane for their help getting his battered hotmod back to the track and into victory lane.

Following Thomas across the stripe were Chad Smith, last weeks winner Mike Conkle, Kenny Isner and Codi Eaton.

In what was the wildest event of the night, the Two Brother Motorsports Modifieds would take to the track with crowd favorite Deanna Groves picking up her first ‘bullring’ win of the season piloting the Melvins Transmission/Tri Valley Equipment/ Two Brothers Outlaw by Shaw GRS 2. Early race excitement would see outside front row starter of #17 JE Stalder out drag the GRS 2 into the first corner pounding the cushion and bicycling almost flipping before settling on his wheels but unfortunately ending his night.

When the action resumed it was an intense battle behind Groves among those in the mix was an impressive Chris Basich, Travis Dickson, Mark Dickson and Vic Vandergrift. Vandergrift was the man on the move clawing his way to the front before a late race spin would negate his fine run to the front. Rounding out the top five behind Groves were Basich, Travis Dickson, Mark Dickson, and Bird Wilson.

Rick Ament driving the #27 would lay claim to the Chris Metz State Farm Insurance Modlite A Main. Ament would make a thrilling last lap pass of defending track champion Brandon Fluharty to secure the hard fought win in a rare Tyler County appearance. Rounding out the top five were Fluharty, last weeks winner Josh Baldwin, Mitch Ward and Tom Keplinger.

In MWRA Mini Wedge action it was the “little ice man” Jacob Ice claiming the spoils as he held off Katlyn Frazier, Georgie Tennant, Alec Frazier and Philip Bubeck across the stripe.

Look for much more information regarding the 39th season of continuous operation at the new Tyler County Speedway and the 2013 plans of the Hometown Racing Association by following them online at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com, phone 304-771-6874 or 304-771-5051 or 304-758-2660 on Raceday, email any questions to info@tylercountyspeedwayonline.com or follow them via social media on Facebook and Twitter.

Located in the scenic West Virginia hills, the Tyler County Speedway is located just four miles south of Middlebourne on state Route 18 at the fairgrounds and featuring the FANtastic 5 weekly program that consist of Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models, EDGE Modifieds, joined by the EDGE HotMods, ModLites, and as always the MWRA Mini-wedges will open the show at the Bullring. As the best weekly card in the Ohio Valley region provides more bang for the race fans’ hard earned buck featuring double the Late Model excitement and a triple dose of modified action at fan friendly pricing.

Be sure to join in the fun next Saturday Night at the Bullring for the prestigious running of the 19th Annual Topless 50. Gates open at 3 p.m., action gets underway at 6 p.m.!


J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land & Timber: Paul Wilmoth, Sonny Conley, Butch McGill, Scott Irvin, Steve Weigle, Mike Benedum, Dusty Hamrick, Derek Doll, Donnie Dotson, Scott Peltz, Billy Brown, Corey Conley, Daniel Hill DNS: Shane Hitt, DJ Cline

Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models: Kyle Thomas, Danny Thomas, Bill Shaffer, Brandon McGrady, Kris Southern, Mike Thorne, Brian Baumberger, Brett Benedum, Chad Green, Joe Bowie, Tracy Sampson, Eric Foster, Joel Prosser, Melvin Ferguson, Travis Brown, Derek Rogers, Jamie America

Two Brothers Motorsports Modifieds: Deanna Groves, Chris Basich, Travis Dickson, Mark Dickson, Bird Wilson, Gerald Deitch, Gabe Sigler, Devin Verardi, Kenny Harris, Vic Vandergrift, Kurt Burge, Eric Wykert, Ron Deitch, Steven Dotson, JE Stalder

Hotmods: Travis Thomas, Chad Smith, Mike Conkle, Kenny Isner, Codi Eaton, Chris Thomas, Brad Dickson, Bill Sigmon, Curtis Watson, Lou Ennis, Josh Sigler, Jennifer Chicklo, Cody Brightwell, Jay Smarr, Bill Wilson, Stevi Magyar, Brandon Weigle, Jim Dudley, Bobby Kimball, CJ Dotson, Tiffany Jackson DNS: Allen Moore

Chris Metz State Farm Insurance: Rick Ament, Brandon Fluharty, Josh Baldwin, Mitch Ward, Tom Keplinger, Daniel Eddy, Randy Kerns, Steve Weekley, Ryan Saffell, Jim Ruckman, Troy Collins, Glenn Teter, Matt Ward, Joe Burkhead, Tony Cavicchio, Scott Gainer

Mini Wedges: Jacob Ice, Katlyn Frazier, Georgie Tennant, Alec Frazier, Philip Bubeck, Levi Nolan, Brady Reed, Madison Hamilton, Josh Gump, Kylie Cross, Roo Roo Dotson, McKenzie Perine, Lane McGilton, Garrett Jones, Harli Rush, Nate Baldwin, Caleb Nolan, Elizabeth Conley.