homepage logo

Cheerleaders take on OVAC

By Staff | Jan 30, 2013

Tyler Consolidated Cheerleaders

The Tyler Consolidated and Paden City High School cheerleading squads will both compete at the 22nd annual OVAC Cheering Competition on Feb. 2.

The competition will be held at the WesBanco Arena in Wheeling and is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m.

Tyler Consolidated, who earned the 2012 OVAC title in their class, hopes to continue their winning ways with a repeat. The Silver Knights will compete in the Class AAA division with Bellaire, Linsly, Magnolia, Monroe Central and River.

Paden City will be competing in the Class A division along with Beallsville, Bishop Donahue, Madonna, St. John and Valley.

The class AA schools in the competition will be Bridgeport, Shadyside, Steubenville Catholic, Toronto and Wheeling Central; class AAAA – Buckeye Local, Martins Ferry, Oak Glen, St. Clairsville, Steubenville, Union Local and Weir; and class AAAAA – Brooke.

Paden City Cheerleaders

In all, 29 cheerleading squads representing their schools will be competing in Wheeling on Saturday.

The competition will consist of each squad incorporating cheers, dances and sideline cheers within a three-minute time period in front of five judges and two safety judges. Partner stunts, pyramids, mounts etc. are not permitted.

Competition order will start with Class A and continue in order, AA, AAA etc. Two awards will be presented per class, championship and runner-up.

The Tyler Consolidated cheerleaders are coached by Stefanie Suter and Laci Strode. Competing at the OVAC’s will be: Alex Bubenchik, Makayla Clegg, Jessica Fiber, Sydney Glover, Jayme Jeffers, Brooke Keys, Logann Long, Shandi Long, Sierra Mace, Kali Mead, Laken Miller, Katlyn Seckman, Randy Taylor and Megan Wilson.

Paden City’s cheerleaders are coached by Rachel Stoneking and Kim Hizer. Competing for the Wildcat squad include: Lynnsie Parsons, Madison Pierce, Samantha Lyons, Cydney Blatt, Desiree Heasley, Tori Anderson, Kayla Hizer, Akayla Kline, and Hannah Stanley.While competition is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m., doors will be open to the public at 8:30 a.m. Ticket prices for this event will be $6 for adults and $5 for students.