homepage logo

Shane Hitt takes the win on ‘Pink’ night

By Staff | Jun 13, 2012

It was a pink night at Tyler County Speedway as it was Pack the House for Relay 4 Life. Also, NASCAR legend Geoff Bodine was at the fast mile, racing in the United Rental Industrial Division crate Late Models. Bodine, piloting the Steve Wilmoth owned machine with the vintage Levi Garrett / Exxon Suprflo sponsorship on the #5. Kyle Thomas and Danny Thomas notched the heat victories. Bodine crossed in fourth in his heat. In the finale, Shane Hitt shot to the point and never looked back.

Driving the Hitt Enterprise / Leggett Motorsports #2*, Hitt claimed his first checkerboard of the season. Kyle Thomas and Danny Thomas raged an all out war as they were side by side most of the 20 lapper. K. Thomas used a lapped car as a pick on the final circuit to secure the second spot. D. Thomas was third, Joel Prosser and Shawn Jett rounded out the top five. Bodine would finish thirteenth. Only one caution slowed the action.

In the Wagon Wheel Bar & Grill Super Late Models, Paul Wilmoth Jr., and Derek Doll snagged the prelims. On the second try at green, Doll took command with Wilmoth, Freddie Carpenter, Scott Peltz and Donnie Dotson in tow. With only three cautions waving on laps two, seven and 10 to slow the pace, Wilmoth pressured Doll the entire distance. Doll was able to fend off Wilmoth on every circuit, until the final one. As the front duo caught the tail of the field Wilmoth was able to use a back marker as a blocker a squirt by for the lead. Wilmoth then held off Doll for the win. Carpenter, Butch McGill, and Dotson completed the top five. While the Midcap Land and Timber / AFCO Shocks #B1 sat in victory lane, younger brother Steve and Geoff Bodine came to the track to congratulate Paul. Bodine said as Wilmoth climbed out of the car, “I want to drive like him.” When asked about the track, Bodine stated, “You people call this the Bullring, this is the Bristol of dirt. You should be proud of what you have here.”

After turning back his dad in their heat, Travis Dickson took the point in the 2 Brothers Motorsports Modified feature and would lead flag-to-flag. It was the second checkerboard for the AM Commodities / Fannin Farms sponsored #16 for the third generation driver. Scott Peltz pulling double duty (also racing in the Supers) edged Mark Dickson for second. Tommy Powell and Mike Wilson crossed in fourth and fifth.

In the Bridgeport Equipment & Tool Hot Mods, Travis Thomas has gotten the Bullring figured out. He easily took his heat win, then smoothly drove his Sigler Fabrication / J W Morgan Construction #18 to his fourth stop in victory lane. Thomas out ran Kenny Isner, Mike Conkle, Codi Eaton and Mike Mason.

Josh Baldwin took the point at the start of the Herrington Yoak Ford Mod Lite finale with Brandon Fluharty breathing down his neck. Fluharty in the AAA Homes / Bridgeport Equipment & Tool #25 made his move on lap four and motored around Baldwin and never relinquished the spot. Baldwin had to settle for second. James Watson finished third, Mitch Ward was fourth and Beau Newlon was fifth.

Donnie Wamsley made it seven for seven in the Custom Engraving 4 cylinders as he beat Jason Frazier, Mike Harter, Zack Jones, Frank Jones, John Carter, and Justin Freeland to the line. Billy Bunnell did not start.

Brandon Weigle scored his fourth first place trophy in the Mini Wedges. Trey Watson, Kaitlyn Frazier, Wesley Baker, and Shayla Griffey followed him across the stripe.

In the B feature Tiffany Jackson took the checkers ahead of P J Wright, Jamie Tate, Josh Gump, and Madison Hamilton. Modified driver Justin Hart sponsored the trophies.

The Bullring will take this weekend off but will return to action June 23 for the 24th Annual Earl Hill Memorial for $4,000 to win for the Wagon Wheel Bar & Grill Super Late Models. For all the latest updates, point standings, driver info, up coming events and more go to www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.


Crate Late Models – Shane Hitt, Kyle Thomas, Danny Thomas, Shawn Jett, Daniel Hill, Michael Griffin, Bill Shaffer, Jacob Lash, John Watson, Derek Rogers, Brian Baumberger, Geoff Bodine, Greg Hicks, Eric Glover, Joe Bowie, Brian Rush, Eddie Starkey, Charles Daugherty, Melvin Ferguson Jr. Heats; Hitt, K.Thomas, D.Thomas.

Super Late Models – Paul Wilmoth Jr., Derek Doll, Freddie Carpenter, Butch McGill, Donnie Dotson, Scott Peltz, Ricky Conley, Scott Irvin, Billy Brown, Charlie George, Buck Rine, Dannie Ruza, Jeremy Misel, Jim Quaigg, Steve Weigle, Sonny Conley.

Modifieds – Travis Dickson, Scott Peltz, Mark Dickson, Tommy Powell, Mike Wilson, Chris Basich, Del Cunningham, Shawn Donahue, Cody Rogers, Randy Clark, Kenny Harris, Steve Higgins. Heats; Peltz, T.Dickson.

Hot Mods – Travis Thomas, Kenny Isner, Mike Conkle, Codi Eaton, Mike Mason, Jonathon Sheets, Kip Todd, Lou Ennis, Chris Thomas, Mark Miller, Chad Dotson, Anastasia Jones, Brad Dickson, Lindsey Smarr, Jennifer Chicklo, Bill Wilson, Levi Flesher, Curtis Watson, Stevie Magyar.

Mod Lites – Brandon Fluharty, Josh Baldwin, James Watson, Mitch Ward, Beau Newlon, Zack Watson, Steve Weekly, Brian Herrington, Joe Burkhead, Daniel Eddy, Anthony Cavicchio, Troy Collins, Matt Ward, Aaron Deitch, Jeff Fornash, Zak Kimbrew, Terry Williams. Heats; Baldwin, J. Watson