homepage logo

McGill heats up opening night at Bullring

By Staff | Apr 4, 2012

As provided to the

Tyler Star News

A good crowd and bulging pit area of over 120 cars braved the cool temperatures for some hot racing action on opening night at the Tyler County Speedway on Saturday night.

In the Wagon Wheel Bar and Grill Late Models Jacob Hawkins, Chris Garnes and Paul Wilmoth Jr. scored the prelim honors as Joel Prosser notched the consy. As the field roared to the green Garnes grabbed the point but, Butch McGill took the spot only to have the yellow void the pass.

On the restart, Hawkins slipped by McGill for second, as the caution appeared again on lap three. When the green waved, Garnes pushed high in turn two allowing both Hawkins and McGill to shoot by. McGill again snared the front spot but again the yellow on lap four gave the spot back to Hawkins. With Hawkins, McGill, Garnes, Mike Benedum and Jared Hawkins occupying the top five, racing resumed. Jared Hawkins motored to fourth by lap six.

McGill then began to apply heavy pressure to Jacob Hawkins as the two entered slower traffic. Just as Jared Hawkins passed Garnes for third, McGill used a lapped car as a pick and drove by Jacob Hawkins for the lead at the half way mark. Jared slipped by younger brother Jacob on lap 14 and began tracking down McGill. On lap 21 the elder Hawkins stuck his nose under McGill but was turned away. McGill driving the Jenkins Ford sponsored #1MC was able to hold off Jared for the win in his 45th anniversary season. Jacob, Garnes and Benedum rounded out the top five.

After four tries the United Rental Industrial Division Edge Racing League Crate Late Models finally got under way at the track. Jeff Fornash jumped to the point with Daniel Hill, Kyle Thomas, Danny Thomas and Michael Griffin in pursuit. Chad Green started ninth and began to move to the front taking fifth on lap five and fourth on lap seven. On the restart on lap nine, Green snared third. Yellows again waved on laps 11 and 13. Fornash was still holding the point when Hill zipped by on the restart of lap 13.

The next go round saw Fornash driving into turn three too hot looping the car moving Green now to second. The time limit would expire setting up a green, white checkered finish. Hill in the Larry’s Western Shop / Aluminum Service Center #8 was able to fend off Green for the checkers. K. Thomas, D. Thomas and Charles Daughtery completed the top five.

Roy Roush made a rare appearance at the Bullring and shot to the lead from his outside pole starting spot and never relinquished it in the Two Brothers Motorsports TSMA Modifieds. There was hard racing going on behind Roush as second running Deana Groves slowed in turn two on the lap eight restart. As Tyler Carpenter, Matt Holcomb, Travis Dickson and Mark Dickson raged a war for the spots behind Roush. When the checker waved Roush in the Cool Spot Restaurant sponsored machine claimed the win. Holcomb, M. Dickson, Mike Wilson and T. Dickson filled out the top five.

In the Bridgeport Equipment and Tool Hot Mods, Travis Thomas shot to the front from the outside pole slot and lead the first circuit. On lap two he pushed high in turn four giving Devin Verardi just enough room to slip by. Verardi was able to withstand the pressure from Thomas for the remaining distance and place the Allied Body Shop/Bob’s Transmission #58 into victory lane.

Thomas had to settle for second while Levi Flesher came from deep in the field to finish third. Chris Ice was fourth and Kenny Isner also came from the back crossed in fifth.

Kenny Meadows showed the way for the first three go rounds in the Herrington – Yoak Ford and Pre Owned Auto Mod Lite finale. But on lap four the ‘buckeye state’ driver gave way to ‘the keystone state’ driver George Englert.

Englert held the spot until the restart of lap six when another ‘buckeye’ took over. Tyler Riggs put the Riggs Pressure Washing #99T out front and stayed there for the rest of the feature. It was his first ever win at the bullring. Englert crossed the stripe in second with Brandon Fluharty, Tracy Fritter and Meadows in tow.

A scary moment in the Eco Flyers 4 cylinders happened when David Bunnell barrel rolled in turn four in the feature and had to be cut out of the car and transported to the hospital with neck pain, (At the time of this writing details were unavailable).

Donnie Wamsley would later drive to the win ahead of Billy Bunnell, Josh Fulks, Justin Freeland and Jason Frazier.

Brandon Weigle fended off Coleton Perine for the first Mini Wedge feature. Wesley Baker, Trey Watson, and Kaitlyn Frazier were third through fifth. Jacob Ice scored the second feature as he bested Kylie Cross, Jackson Jacobs, Hayden Jacobs

Coming this week to the bullring is Bridgeport Equipment “John Deere” Night. Receive $2 off when you wear “John Deere” attire. Plus it’s Harrison County Hometown Hero night. Residents of Harrison County bring your ID for free admission. There will also be a Kids Club Easter egg hunt!

For all the latest information and to purchase “Bullring Bonanza” tickets go to www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.


Late Models (27): Butch McGill, Jared Hawkins, Jacob Hawkins, Chris Garnes, Mike Benedum, Steve Weigle, Dusty Hamrick, Mason Ziegler, Donnie Dotson, Freddie Carpenter, Derek Doll, Billy Brown, Tyler Carpenter, Joel Prosser, Nick Corbitt, Tracie Sampson, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Bob Adams Jr. Heats; Jac. Hawkins, Garnes, Wilmoth. Consey; Prosser. DNS – Jr. Gibson, Sonny Conley, Dannie Ruza, James Joy, Brock Morris, Mike Martin, Doug Wriston Jr., David Gibson, David Gibson Jr.,

Crate Late Models (21): Daniel Hill, Chad Green, Kyle Thomas, Danny Thomas, Charles Daughtery, Greg Hicks, Michael Griffin, Norm Weaver, Brian Baumberger, Melvin Ferguson, Derek Rogers, John Watson, C J Johnson, Bill Shaffer, Jeff Fornash, Mike Thorne, Joel Prosser, Brandon McGrady. Heats; Fornash, McGrady, Hill. Consey; Rogers. DNS – Josh Jenkins, Eric Glover, Kenny Harris.

Modified (22): Roy Roush, Matt Holcomb, Mark Dickson, Mike Wilson, Travis Dickson, Donnie Nething, Rick Venham, Brent Trimble, Robert Garnes, Vince Conrad, Tyler Carpenter, Jeremy Blake, Justin Sinnett, Jacob Shaffer, Dylan Shaffer, Deana Groves, Brandon Barnhart. Heats; Groves, Roush, Carpenter. Consey; Blake. DNS – Jess Hartman, Cody Henthorn, Cody Rogers, Kenny Harris.

Hot Mods (15): Devin Verardi, Travis Thomas, Levi Flesher, Chris Ice, Kenny Isner, Codi Eaton, David Kile, Curtis Watson, Stevi Magyar, Chris Thomas, Mark Miller, Lindsey Smarr, Stevi Magyar, Mike Conkle, Anstasia Jones.

Mod Lite (23): Tyler Riggs, George Englert, Brandon Fluharty, Tracy Fritter, Kenny Meadows, Zack Watson, Steve Weekley, Mitch Ward, Brian Thompson, Matt Ward, Glenn Teter, James Watson, Jim Ruckman, Josh Baldwin, Mike Herrington, Matt Hall. Heats; Meadows, Riggs, Englert. Consey; Thompson. DNS – Troy Collins, Kerry Williams, Brian Herrington, Daniel Eddy, Aaron Deitch Jr., Jay Smarr.

4 cylinders (15): Donnie Wamsley, Billy Bunnell, Josh Fulks, Justin Freeland, Jason Frazier, Rickie Wright, Samantha Frazier, Raquel Wolfe, Keith Leek, Frank Jones, Mike Carter, Tyler Carroll, Zach Jones, David Bunnell, Bill Doll.