homepage logo

Carpenter snags first career win at speedway

By Staff | Jul 20, 2011

An overcast day gave way to a full moon and cooler temperatures, but the racing was hot at the Bullring Saturday night. The Hometown Hero Program continued as this week residents of Ritchie and Pleasants counties were honored.

In the Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Models, Steve Wilmoth, Butch McGill and Paul Wilmoth Jr. collected the prelims. On the second try at green S. Wilmoth, McGill, P. Wilmoth, Tyler Carpenter and Chris Carpenter filled out the top five. The first stoppage came on lap six, when Jim Quaigg looped his machine in front of the leaders. Just as the previous two weeks, S. Wilmoth was out front. But this time, McGill was hot on his tail. On lap nine McGill peaked under S. Wilmoth but couldn’t make a move. C. Carpenter had made his way to third by lap 11. T. Carpenter also got by P. Wilmoth for fourth on lap 15.

The remaining circuits were caution free, but not excitement free. The front trio began to dart in and out of traffic as the laps whittled away. S. Wilmoth had his hands full fending off McGill, as C. Carpenter was all over the deck lid of McGill. With just three go rounds left, the trio were three wide. With the white flag waving C. Carpenter entered turn three low, McGill in the middle and S. Wilmoth on top. With the checkered in sight, C. Carpenter mashed the loud peddle and edged McGill and S. Wilmoth at the stripe for his first career victory at the Bullring. Carpenter driving the Pro Tech Auto Sales / Tru Tech Customs #18, crossed ahead of McGill, S. Wilmoth, T. Carpenter, Mark Banal.

The United Rental Industrial Division FASTRAK Late Model feature began with Danny Thomas on the point followed by Derek Doll, Daniel Hill, Kyle Thomas and Shaun Jett. D. Thomas held the spot until he slid high in turn two on lap three allowing Doll to blow by. Doll then preceded to drive away with his fourth win. Three yellows couldn’t even slow the Perkins Supply / Cell Accessories sponsored #87. Daniel Hill, Kris Southern (from ninth) K. Thomas and Jett completed the top five.

Travis Dickson for the second straight week jumped to the front in the Bridgeport Equipment and Tool TSMA Modified finale. Donnie Nething, Mark Dickson, Deana Groves and Mike Wilson were in tow. T. Dickson began to build a comfortable lead while M. Dickson raged war with Nething. On lap six M.Dickson secured second.

The caution came out on lap ten when Ted Bier spun in turn four. The Dickson continued to pace the field as Wilson motored to third on lap 13. The yellow waved again for Bieron lap 14. On the restart Wilson drove into turn one too hot and spun out. Cautions were unfurled on laps 16 and 17. Each restart M. Dickson would get the nose under T Dickson but couldn’t get any closer. T. Dickson beat Dad, Mark to the line for the fourth time this season. It was the A M Commodities / Fannin Farms sponsored #16 a track leading fifth feature win. Nething, Groves, Del Cunningham filled out the top five.

In the Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods, Kenny Isner had the best position in the race. Because he was the leader, he was spared all the carnage and mayhem that happened behind him. Isner drove the Mike’s Auto Body / Norris Tire #7 to his fourth checkerboard. (it was the car’s fifth, as Brian Probst won in it earlier this year.) Codi Eaton, Kurt Burge, Travis Thomas, and Levi Flesher survived to round out the top five.

The Herrington Yoak Ford & Pre Owned Auto Mod Lite Tyler Riggs out ran pole setter Robbie Scott to turn one to grab the lead. But as the field completed the first circuit Scott was showing the way. Brandon Fluharty began his assent to the front as he drove by Scott for the spot on lap five. Scott then began to apply pressure to Fluharty lap after lap. With three go rounds left, Scott drove under Fluharty to snare the lead. Scott was able to hold off Fluharty for the victory. Josh Baldwin finished third, Mitch Herrick and Brian Thompson were fourth and fifth.

In what of been the best race of the night, no less than five cars ran under the preverbal blanket in the Wells Inn / Champion Sport Cards and Trophies Eco Flyer 4 Cylinders. When the dust settled, David Bunnell in the D & K Automotive / Frosty’s Pre owned Auto sponsored #22F emerged from the pack for his second first place trophy. Josh Fulks, Donnie Wamsley, Bill Doll and Billy Bunnell followed closely across the line.

Once again the Outlaw Graphic and Automotive Services MWRA Mini Wedges showed that they are the future racers. The highly contested feature saw Hunter Partridge taking his first checkerboard of the season. Partridge outran Brandon, Weigle, Alec Frazier, Kaitlyn Frazier and Trey Watson to the stripe. Partridge and Watson scored the heat wins. The MWRA sponsored trophies this week.

This week at the Bullring it’s AT&T Rethink Possible present 4-H / F.F.A. Recognition Night. Along with the Hometown Hero Program for residents of Doddridge and Calhoun counties. For 4-H / F.F.A. Night please bring ID or membership info and get free general admission pass. For the Hometown Hero program go to the website for complete details www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.

* * * *

Late Models; Chris Carpenter, Butch McGill, Steve Wilmoth, Tyler Carpenter, Mark Banal, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Greg Baumberger, Freddie Carpenter, Steve Weigle, Billy Brown, Ricky Conley, Scott Irvin, Dannie Ruza, Sonny Conley, James Watson, Jeremy Misel, Richard Frazier, Terry Styer, Doug Wriston, Donnie Dotson. Heats; S. Wilmoth, McGill, P. Wilmoth Jr.

FASTRAK; Derek Doll, Daniel Hill, Kris Southern, Kyle Thomas, Shaun Jett, Danny Thomas, Joel Prosser, Michael Griffin, Tom Keplinger, Jeff Fornash, John Watson, Jacob Lash, Tony Tatgenhorst, Lee Roy Ferguson, Bill Shaffer, Eddie Starkey, Jamie America, Melvin Ferguson.

Modified; Travis Dickson, Mark Dickson, Donnie Nething, Deana Groves, Del Cunningham, Mike Wilson, Steve Higgins, Ted Bier, Hilton Eppey, P J Durrah. DNS; Shawn Davis. Heats; T. Dickson, Nething.

Hot Mod; Kenny Isner, Codi Eaton, Kurt Burge, Travis Thomas, Levi Flesher, Mike Lauer, Devin Verardi, Mike Conkle, Lindsey Smarr, Robert Goodrich, Anastasia Jones, Roland Bell, Bill Sigmon. DNS; Doug Carson. Heats; Eaton, Isner.

Mod Lites; Robbie Scott, Brandon Fluharty, Josh Baldwin, Mitch Herrick, Brian thompson, Zack Watson, Mike Herrington, Tyler Riggs, Jim Ruckman, Troy Collins, Daniel Eddy, Brian Herrington. DNS Anthony Cavicchio. Heats; Scott, Riggs.

4 cylinders; David Bunnell, Josh Fulks, Donnie Wamsley, Bill Doll, Billy Bunnell, Justin Freeland, Zack Jones, Roger Wright, Justin Mozena, William Underwood.