homepage logo

Thomas, Hatfield take memorial races

By Staff | Jun 30, 2011

Fans that attended Tyler County Speedway this Saturday were treated with over 100 cars, 14 heats, one consey, 10 features, and fireworks on the track and in the sky.

This week was the 5th annual Tammy Clegg Memorial for Hot Mods and Powder Puffs. Clegg was a former Women’s Series Champion that was tragically killed in automobile accident.

The Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods saw Levi Flesher and Travis Thomas (brother of Clegg) take prelim honors.

After the third try, Thomas jumped to the point followed by Mike Conkle, Flesher, Bill Sigmon and Lou Ennis. Only one yellow slowed action as on lap six, Mike Lauer spun in turn two. Thomas fended off Conkle for the entire distance as he put the Lucy’s Restaurant / J W Morgan Construction #18 in victory lane. An emotional Thomas stated after the race winning was more than words could describe. Conkle, Sigmon, Roland Bell and Flesher rounded out the top five.

In the Powder Puff portion Andrea Hatfield shot to the front and held off a late charge from Kathy Bell to take the first place trophy. Samantha Frazier, Lauren Cline and Ashley Snider completed the top five. Hatfield was driving the #03 4 cylinder of Jason Freeland.

The Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Models once again had a strong field as Mike Benedum, Bub Crum Jr., and Butch McGill notched heat wins. Benedum snared the lead with McGill, Steve Wilmoth, Crum and Paul Wilmoth Jr., close behind. The first stoppage came on lap two when Bob Moskey looped his mount in turn four. The second yellow fell on lap six when P. Wilmoth slowed with a flat left rear tire. Cautions were displayed again on laps eight, 10, and 14. The longest stretch of green had Benedum building a comfortable lead but on lap 20 Jim Cochran spun in front of the leaders but everyone made it through unscaved. In the brand new car from top to bottom, the BSI Well Service sponsored #25, Benedum won his first feature of the year. McGill, S. Wilmoth, Greg Baumberger, Billy Brown and Scott Irvin were second through fifth.

The United Rental Industrial division FASTRAK Late Models ran two features. The makeup from June 4, as Shawn Jett in the Aluminum Service Center / Custom Builders #137 used his pole position to grab the front spot. Jett would lead wire to wire enroute to his first checkerboard of the season. Derek Doll, Daniel Hill, Kris Southern and Kyle Thomas filled out the top five slots.

In the regular finale Kyle Thomas was the early pace setter with Dusty Hamrick, Daniel Hill, Rick Strickler and Michael Griffin in tow. Hill began his assent to the front as he took second on lap six and began to pressure K. Thomas. On lap eight Hill made the successful bid for the lead. Hill would then not be challenged as he placed his Larry’s Western Shop / Aluminum Service Center #8 in victory circle for the second time this year. K. Thomas held off a late charge from Strickler for second. Sonny Conley crossed in fourth and Hamrick completed the top five.

The Bridgeport Equipment and Tool Modifieds became ‘the race that would never end’.

Up front Travis Dickson was trying to hold off Dad Mark. As M. Dickson was fighting off Mike Wilson. But yellows fell on laps one, three, four, restart, five, six, seven and fifteen. The green, white, checkered was displayed as the time limit expired. T. Dickson notched win number three in the Fannin Farms / A M Commodities #16. M. Dickson finished second, Wilson was third, Russell Erwin and Tanner Remburg were fourth and fifth.

The Herrington Yoak Ford and Pre Owned Auto Mod Lites also ran double features as they made up their June 4 rainout. Josh Baldwin jumped from his third starting spot to the front and would never relinquish it. Kasey Campbell chased Baldwin but had to settle for second. Brandon Fluharty, Zack Watson and Mitch Herrick were third through fifth.

Baldwin continued his night of domination by taking the first heat and snagging the lead at the drop of the green for the finale. Again Baldwin would not give up the spot as for the second time in the evening the J & T Paving & Excavating / Belmont Aggregate sat in victory lane. Fluhary, Cody Bova, Watson and Herrick completed the top five.

Donnie Wamsley in the East Gate Used Cars / Barbie’s Day Care #00 added his third first place trophy in the Wells Inn / Champion Sport Cards & Trophies Eco Flyer 4 Cylinders. Wamsley bested Jason Frazier, David Bunnell, Jay Siglinger and Zack Jones.

The Outlaw Graphic / Automotive Services Mini Wedges once again set the tone for the evening as the youngsters had the crowd on their feet. Shayla Griffey collected her second first place trophy (sponsored by Travis Thomas Racing). Trey Watson followed with Kaitlyn Frazier, Jordon Doty and Alec Frazier third through fifth.

This week at the Bullring the UFO invades the ultra fast track for the third time this season with the 23rd annual Earl Hill Memorial with $4,000 to win for Late Models. Recent winners include Butch McGill 1998, 2000. Gary Dalton 1999. Bobby Hill 2001,2003. Robbie Scott 2005. Mike Benedum 2004, 2006, 2007. Tim Dohm 2008. Jared Hawkins 2010. Rain won in 2002 and 2009. Plus regular racing in all other classes.

For all the latest information, point standings and driver information go to www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com

* * * *

Late Models; Mike Benedum, Butch McGill, Steve Wilmoth, Greg Baumberger, Billy Brown, Scott Irvin, Steve Weigle, Bub Crum Jr., Dwight Henry, Tracie Sampson, Dannie Ruza, Jeremy Misel, Terry Styer, Jim Cochran, James Watson, Tyler Carpenter, Freddie Carpenter, Bob Moskey, Paul Wilmoth Jr. DNS; Ron Deitch. Heats; Benedum, Crum, McGill.

FASTRAK (makeup); Shawn Jett, Derek Doll, Daniel Hill, Kris Southern, Kyle Thomas, Rick Strickler, Danny Thomas, John Watson, Michael Griffin, Jeff Fornash, Robbie Thomas, Bill Shaffer, Eddie Starkey, Lincoln Campbell, C J Johnson, Tom Keplinger. Freddie Carpenter, Melvin Ferguson, Lester Huffman, Cody Rogers. DNS Robert Cossell IV, Joel Prosser. Heats; Jett, Jacob Lash, Southern.

FASTRAK; Daniel Hill, Kyle Thomas, Rick Strickler, Sonny Conley, Dusty Hamrick, Derek Doll, Shawn Jett, Chris Carpenter, Michael Griffin, Cody Rogers, Jeff Fornash, Danny Thomas, Chad Green, C J Johnson, Tom Keplinger, Bill Shaffer, Eddie Starkey, John Watson. Heats; Hill, K. Thomas, Hamrick. Consey; Carpenter. DNS; Kris Southern, Jamie America, Lee Roy Ferguson, Robbie Thomas, Lester Huffman, Melvin Ferguson

Modifieds; Travis Dickson, Mark Dickson, Mike Wilson, Russell Erwin, Tanner Remburg, Del Cunningham, Ronnie Schmitt, Brian Rush, Denny Klug, Steve Higgins, Jason Stewart, Brandon Barnhart, Chris Ice, Justin Sinnett, P J Durrah, Tim Rager, Shawn Davis, Tommy Powell. DNS; Brock Moskey. Heats; Ice, T. Dickson.

Hot Mods; Travis Thomas, Mike Conkle, Bill Sigmon, Roland Bell, Levi Flesher, Lou Ennis, Codi Eaton, Kurt Burge, Corey Haught, Bill Wilson, Robert Goodrich, Mike Lauer, Lindsey Smarr. Heats; Flesher, Thomas.

Mod Lite (makeup); Josh Baldwin, Kasey Campbell, Brandon Fluharty, Zack Watson, Mitch Herrick, Jim Ruckman, Daniel Eddy, Troy Collins. DNS; Zack McBride, Beau Newlon, Shawn McBride, Brain Herrington. Heats; Fluharty, Campbell.

Mod Lite; Josh Baldwin, Brandon Fluharty, Cody Bova, Zack Watson, Kasey Campbell, Tyler Riggs, Mitch Ward, Joe Thomas, Jim Ruckman, Jacob Bova, Anthony Cavicchio, Troy Collins, Daniel Eddy, Mitch Herrick.

4 Cylinders; Donnie Wamsley, Jason Frazier, David Bunnell, Jay Siglinger, Zack Jones, Ronnie Wright, Bryan Underwood, Bill Doll, Josh Fulks, Justin Freeland.

Powder Puff; Andrea Hatfield, Kathy Bell, Samantha Frazier, Lauren Cline, Ashley Snider, Olivia Brammer, Amy Phillips.