homepage logo

Angelicchio takes win at Tyler

By Staff | Jun 15, 2011

The old saying goes ‘ third times a charm’. Which wasn’t the case in the FASTRAK Northeast Touring Series / Mid Ohio Valley Region co sanctioned Topless 25 at Tyler County. It was the fourth try that finally got the race in the books.

Of the 31 Late Models that signed in Brian Lessley, Max Blair, Josh Holtgraver and Kirk Isner grabbed prelim honors. Shane Hitt took the consey. When the 24 car field roared to life Lessley, Kyle Thomas, Matt Long, Dan Angelicchio, and Danny Thomas quickly filled the top five slots.

The first stoppage came on lap one when K. Thomas broke loose in turn one. On the restart Long snagged the point only to have Lessley take it back the next go round. Blair motored to second on lap six as the yellow waved again on lap seven. This time Hitt and Damian Bidwell got together in turn four. On the ensuing restart, Lessley, Angelicchio, Blair, Daniel Hill and Holtgraver were now the top five. The race only marked off two laps when Jeff Fornash and Hitt collected each other in turn two. When the green waved again Angelicchio began to apply pressure to Lessley as the duo ran door to door by lap 11. Angelicchio pulled ahead on lap 14 as the new leader. The caution came out again on lap 17 when Long looped his mount in turn four. Angelicchio, Lessley, Hill, Blair and Shawn Jett (from fourteenth) were the top five. The final yellow unfurled on lap nineteen when Michael Griffin got around in turn two. Angelicchio collected his career touring series win in the Brooks Auto Group / S & S Communications #14. Hill got around Blair for second, Lessley and Jett completed the top five. United Rental Industrial Division in the title sponsor for the class at Tyler County Speedway.

A pair of Steve’s, Wilmoth and Weigle, started on the front row of the Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Model feature. Three cautions slowed action in the first two circuits. Wilmoth held he point as the race stayed green until lap 10 when Jeremy Misel spun in front of Wilmoth in turn two. Wilmoth was able to avoid him and continue. S. Wilmoth, Weigle, Billy Brown, Paul Wilmoth Jr., and Scott Irvin were the top five. P. Wilmoth began his asssent to the front as he took second on lap 13. Greg Baumberger also made his presence known as he climbed from eight to third by lap 15. P. Wilmoth chased down his younger brother and pulled even with five circuits to go. The brothers dueled side by side until Paul gained the advantage on lap 21. P. Wilmoth then had to fend off a late charge from Baumberger to put his Midcap Land And Timber / Monroe Excavating B1 into victory lane for the third time. S. Wilmtoh finished third, Brown and Weigle were fourth and fifth.

In the Bridgeport Equipment and Tool Modified makeup feature, Mike Wilson continued his domination as he lead the last 65 laps of feature competition. Wilson held off Travis Dickson, Shawn Davis, Brent Trimble and Tommy Powell. It was Wilson’s third straight win.

In the regular finale Travis Dickson out dragged his Dad Mark for the lead and fought him off, then later Mike Wilson. T. Dickson in the Fannin Farms / A M Commodities #16 collected his second checkerboard of the season. Wilson’s streak ended as he finished second. M. Dickson, Andy Bond, and Tommy Powell filled out the top five.

The Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods also ran double features as last weeks was rained out. Travis Thomas scored the checkers as he bested Mike Conkle, Roland Bell, Tom Sigler (driving Cody Watson’s #17), and Codi Eaton. Lucy’s Restaurant and J W Morgan Construction are on the side of Thomas’ car.

In the regular feature Tom Sigler (now in Bill Sigmon’s PT09) fought off Travis Thomas for the win. Mike Conkle crossed in third, Kenny Isner was fourth and Roland Bell was fifth.

The Herrington Yoak Ford / Pre Owned Auto Mod Lite may have been the most entertaining finale. Mitch Herrick lead lap one. Tyler Riggs lead laps two to four. Beau Newlon lead the restart, Herrick regained the spot on lap five. Then Brandon Fluharty inherited the spot when Herrick got loose in turn four. The time expired with Fluharty out front for the AAA Homes sponsored #25 second win of the year. Steve Weekly, Mitch Ward, Zach Watson, and Herrick rounded out the top five.

The Wells Inn / Champion Sports Cards & Trophies Eco Flyer 4 Cylinders saw Bobby Dennison made the first outing a good one with the checkerboard finishing ahead of Bill Doll, Josh Fulks, Donnie Wamsley, and David Bunnell.

Trey Watson put the Sam Watson Trucking #T17 in victory circle for the third time in the Outlaw Graphic and Automotive Services Mini Wedges. Brandon Weigle, Shayla Griffey, Stevi Magyar, and Georgie Ternnett completed the top five. Heat winners were Tiffany Jackson and Watson.

Next week at the Bullring a full slate awaits fans as there will be the Tammy Clegg Memorial for Hot Mods with a Powder Puff race in the 4 cylinders for the ladies. The makeup features from June 4 for the FASTRAKs and Mod Lites. The new Homwtown Heros program featuring free tickets for persons from Harrison County. For more information you can go to Little Ceasers or Kroger’s in Harrison County. Or go to www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com Plus wear your 2011 Bullring t shirt and get ? off the general admission price.

FASTRAK; Dan Angelicchio, Daniel Hill, Max Blair, Brian Lessley, Shawn Jett, Jacob Lash, Joe Martin, Mike Pegher, Josh Holtgraver, K C Burdette, Butch Lambert, Danny Thomas, Joel Prosser, Steve Dixon, John Watson, Micheal Griffin, Melvin Ferguson, Matt Long, Damian Bidwell, Jeff Fornash, Kyle Thomas, Shane Hitt, Eddie Starkey, Kirk Isner. DNS; Bill Shaffer. Heats; Lessley, Blair, Holtgraver, Isner. Consey; Hitt.

Late Models; Paul Wilmoth Jr., Greg Baumberger, Steve Wilmoth, Billy Brown, Steve Weigle, Scott Irvin, Freddie Carpenter, Andy Bond, Kris Southern, Dannie Ruza, Jeremy Misel, Josh Coffman, Ron Deitch, Jim Quaigg, James Watson. Heats; S. Wilmoth, Weigle.

Modified (makeup); Mike Wilson, Travis Dickson, Shawn Davis, Brent Trimble, Tommy Powell, Brandon Barnhart, Brian Rush, P J Durrah, Todd Higgins, Kenny Isner, Ted Bier, Devin Verardi. DNS; Deanna Groves, Del Cunningham, Justin Sinnett, Brock Moskey, Chris Ice. Heats; T. Dickson, Wilson.

Modified; Travis Dickson, Mike Wilson, Mark Dickson, Andy Bond, Tommy Powell, Brent Trimble, Shawn Davis, Todd Higgins, Brian Rush, Ted Bier, Brandon Barnhart, P J Durrah. Heats; M. Dickson, T. Dickson.

Hot Mod (makeup); Travis Thomas, Mike Conkle, Roland Bell, Tom Sigler, Codi Eaton, Levi Flesher, Bill Sigmon, Kurt Burge, Bill Wilson, Lindsey Smarr. Heats; Eaton, Thomas.

Hot Mod; Tom Sigler, Travis Thomas, Mike Conkle, Kenny Isner, Roland Bell, Codi Eaton, Levi Flesher, Corey Haught, Kurt Burge, Devin Verardi, Cody Watson, Robert Goodrich, Bill Wilson. DNS; Lindsey Smarr. Heats; Burge, Sigler.

Mod Lite; Brandon Fluharty, Steve Weekly, Mitch Ward, Zach Watson, Mitch Herrick, Jim Ruckman, Joe Thomas, Beau Newlon, Daniel Eddy, Brian Herrington, Tyler Riggs, Anthony Cavicchio, Kacy Campbell. Heats; Herrick, Riggs.

4 Cylinders; Bobby Dennison, Bill Doll, Josh Fulks, Donnie Wamsley, David Bunnell, Zack Jones, Justin Freeland.