homepage logo

Dohm takes ‘King of the Ring’

By Staff | Jun 8, 2011

Zack Dohm - King of the Ring

The UFo series landed for a second time at the Bullring at the Tyler County Speedway on Saturday night for the 13th annual King of the Ring.

36 Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Models signed in and not only were trying to out run the others, but to outrun Mother Nature.

After Robbie Scott, Zach Dohm, Tim Dohm and Harold Redman Jr. scored heat victories. Steve Wilmoth and Jared Hawkins captured the B mains. Keith Barbara drew the pole pill and grabbed the front spot at the drop of the green.

Zack Dohm, Mike Benedum, Corey Conley and T. Dohm quickly fell in behind. On lap three Benedum snagged second, as the first yellow came out on the next circuit for Redman Jr. with a flat right rear tire. The race resumed as the caution waved again on lap five when T. Dohm and Benedum got together in turn one.

T. Dohm stopped putting him to the tail. Barbara, Z. Dohm, C. Conley, Benedum and Paul Wilmoth Jr. were now the top five.

The green waved as the dueling 17’s (Barbara and Z. Dohm) raced door to door. Wilmoth motored to third on lap nine while Jacob Hawkins climbed from eight to fifth on lap 12. The yellow was unfurled again on lap 12 when Tracie Sampson spun in turns three and four.

On the restart using double file, Barbara, Z. Dohm, Hawkins, Wilmoth and from tenth Scott now filled the top five. Hawkins moved by Dohm for second on lap 21.

The next stoppage came on lap 23 when Jared Hawkins slapped the front straight wall and then slowed on the back chute. Butch McGill then made his way from sixteenth to fifth by lap 25. Jacob Hawkins was the next causality as he pulled into the infield on lap 26. Barbara, Z. Dohm, Wilmoth, McGill and Scott occupied the front five slots until T. Dohm clawed from the tail to fifth on lap 29. Barbara and Z. Dohm drove the one fourth mile side by side for lap after lap.

The crowd was on their feet as the front duo continued to circle the Bullring welded together. Wilmoth also stayed glued to the pair waiting for a mistake.

With the laps clicking off McGill would go up in smoke ending his evening. Z. Dohm was on the inside while Barbara run in the outside groove, when with just two laps to go Dohm edged ahead exiting turn two. Z. Dohm in the T & R Logging / Southern Ohio Wood sponsored machine pulled out to a slight lead on the back straight and was able to stay there for the win.

Barbara crossed the line in second. Wilmoth was third, T. Dohm recovered to finished fourth and Scott completed the top five.

In the Wells Inn / Champion Sports Cards & Trophies Eco Flyer 4 Cylinders David Bunnell in the D & K Automotive / Frosty’s Pre Owned Auto sponsored #22F claimed his first win of the year. Zack Jones, Donnie Wamsley, Bill Doll, and Justin Freeland finished second through fifth.

Brandon Weigle drove his Gastar / D.A.C. sponsored #75 to his first victory of the season in the Outlaw Graphic & Automotive Services Mini Wedges. Shayla Griffey, Jordan Doty, Kaitlyn Frazier and Georgie Tennett followed Weigle across the line.

The remaining features were rained out and will be made at a date yet to be determined.

Next week at the Bullring will be the FASTRAK Northeast Touring Series / Mid Ohio Valley region co sanctioned rescheduled 4th annual Topless 25. The race has been reslated twice due to rain.

Freddie Carpenter won the inaugural race in 2008. Mike Pegher took the checkers in 2009, and Max Blair is the defending champion of the race.

For all the latest information, point standings, driver profiles and more surf over to www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.

Late Models – Zach Dohm, Keith Barbara, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Tim Dohm, Robbie Scott, Jared Miley, Devin Friese, Steve Weigle, Quinton Wyandt, Ricky Conley, Butch McGill, Corey Conley, Steve Wilmoth, Mike Benedum, Jacob Hawkins, Alex Ferree, Jared Hawkins, Chad McClellen, Tyler Carpenter, Tracie Sampson, Kyle Bates, Harold Redman Jr. Heats; Scott, Z. Dohm, T. Dohm, Redman Jr. B Mains; S. Wilmoth, Jared Hawkins.

4 Cylinders – David Bunnell, Zack Jones, Donnie Wamsley, Bill Doll, Justin Freeland, Mike Mason.