homepage logo

Scott cures winless streak

By Staff | Jul 14, 2010

The Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association made an added stop to the mile track. After making their inaugural appearance back in June with Jimmy Stinson taking the checkers. Stinson once again tripped the clock the quickest, but slower with a time of 12.29 seconds. Jim Neir and Kory Crabtree notched heat wins. Neir blasted to the lead when the 14 car field rumbled on the front chute. Only one yellow slowed the 20 lapper, but it didn’t slow Neir. In his first ever trip to The Bullring the Ohio driver took the $2,000 check. In a late charge Keith Baxter was second. Stinson finished third, Crabtree and Dave Dickson were fourth and fifth.

In the Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Models, Robbie Scott, Greg Baumberger and Chris Garnes scored prelim honors. Scott and Baumberger paced the field with Scott holding the advantage as yellows waved on laps four, five, six, and nine. Scott still held the point with Garnes and Paul Wilmoth Jr., hot on his tail. Scott laid a little real estate between himself and fiercely battling duo behind him. Garnes and P. Wilmoth were putting on a whale of a show with Steve Wilmoth trailing waiting for a mistake. No mistake’s were made as Scott made his first trip to victory circle since 2007. Garnes held off P. Wilmoth for second. S. Wilmoth was fourth and Baumberger was fifth.

Kyle Thomas and Jacob Lash put on a clinic of door to door racing in the FASTRAK finale. Thomas was able to fend off Lash for the first half of the race, but as the two ‘rubbed’ a little on lap nine, Lash took advantage and snagged the lead on lap 10. Lash was able to withstand the pressure to collect his career first FASTRAK win. Thomas had to settle for second. Derek Rogers had a great run finishing third. Shane Hitt and Randy Clark were fourth and fifth.

In what was no doubt, the best Modified race all year, and possibly the best race in many moons. Tom Sigler and bunch raged nothing short of war for the top spot. When the smoke cleared Sigler notched his first win of the season. Donnie Nething emerged for second. Brent Trimble raced from eighth to third. Mike Wilson crossed in fourth, while Brian Probst crossed in fifth.

After an opening lap wreck that took out four Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods, Greg Conger again set the #14 on cruise control and took his third checkerboard. Kenny Isner gave chase but ended up a little short. Cody Eaton, Travis Thomas and Lindsey Smarr

filled out the order.

At the outset of the WXCR 92.3 Pure Stocks, Shelly Powell and Chris Ice dueled for the top spot. Ice gained the advantage but then had to fight off Jeff Fornash. Fornash drove from eighth and began to pressure Ice. At the halfway mark, Fornash used a slower car to make a bid for the lead successful. It would be the Salem drivers seventh win this season. Randy Bohan edged Ice at the stripe for second. Powell ended in fourth and Nick Ley rounded out the top five.

Aaron Pendelton made a rare appearance a profitable one as he won his heat and grabbed the Mod Lite feature victory. Brandon Fluharty, Sonny Conley, Jim Ruckman and Jamie Long filled out the top five.

Donnie Wamsley emerged from a wide and wooly Champion Sport Cards and Trophies Junkyard warrior feature. Alex Mosser finished second, Tanya Colvine Perine, Bobby Dennison, and Larry Cumberledge Jr. completed the top five.

Ryan Watson stayed hot notching his seventh Bridgeport Equipment and Tool Mini Wedge feature ahead of Brandon Weigle, Wesley Baker, Shayla Griffey and Scott Perrine.

OVSCA; Jim Neir, Keith Baxter, Jimmy Stinson, Kory Crabtree, Dave Dickson, Andre Layfield, Sam Ashworth, Aaron Higgins, the Phantom, Greg Mitchell, Chris Meyers,

Sam Mosher, Tim Mosher, Mark Imler. Heats; Neir, Crabtree.

Late Models; Robbie Scott, Chris Granes, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Steve Wilmoth, Greg Baumberger, Ed Shuman, Butch McGill, Scott Irvin, Josh Coffman, Steve Weigle, Robbie Bostic, Billy Brown, Richard Frazier, Jeremy Misel, P J Corbitt, Nick Corbitt, Doug Eaton, Ted Dillie, Dannie Ruza, Ricky Conley, Brian Eaton. Heats; Scott, Baumberger, Garnes.

FASTRAK; Jacob Lash, Kyle Thomas, Derek Rogers, Shane Hitt, Michael Griffin, Danny Thomas, Brandon McGrady, Brian Rush, Bill Shaffer, Jamie America, Greg Hicks, Chris Zickefuse, Dusty Hamrick, Melvin Ferguson, Chad Green. DNS; Eddie Starkey. Heats; Thomas, Hamrick.

AMRA Mods; Tom Sigler, Donnie Nething, Brent Trimble, Mike Wilson, Brian Probst, J.P. Roberts, Vince Conrad, Randy Clark, Jason Canapari, Del Cunningham, Jimmy Rhoads, Nick Carr, Rob Stoops, Robert Garnes, Justin Hart, Rick Venham Jr., Rod Sayre,

Ryan Stoops. Heats; Venham, Sigler.

Hot Mods; Greg Conger, Kenny Isner, Cody Eaton, Travis Thomas, Lindsey Smarr, Eddie Starkey, Bill Spigmon, Cody Watson, Glen Underwood. Heats; Underwood, Conger.

Pure Stocks; Jeff Fornash, Randy Bohan, Chris Ice, Shelly Powell, Nick Ley, Cody Henthorn, Chad Tallhammer, Al Wagner, Michael Mason Jr., Levi Flesher, Ben Ayers, Justin Sinnett, Jess Gibson, Rob Martin, Mark Martie. Heats; Powell, Ice.

Mod Lite; Aaron Pendelton, Brandon Fluharty, Sonny Conley, Jim Ruckman, Jamie Long, Brent Irvin, Jamie Watson, Randy Armes, Mitch Herrick, Kevin Dotson, Jacob Lash. DNS; Tyler Riggs. Heats; Conley, Pendelton.

Junkyard Warrior; Donnie Wamsley, Alex Mosser, Tanya Colvin Perine, Bobby Dennison, Larry Cumberledge Jr., Jonathan Sheets, Kathy Bell, Dakota Highley, Billy Bunnell, Andrea Hatfield, Derek Thompson.

The slate for July 17 has the AMRA Road Warriors roll into the Bullring with $1,200 to win for the Modifieds. The rescheduled Eaton – Childers Memorial for Late Models is coming July 24 with a $5,000 pay check to the winner. To close the month of July out is the FASTRAK Mountain Man 25 for $2,000 to win on the 31st . Don’t forget the Black Diamond 125 set for Sept. 4 6.

For all the details go to the web at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com