homepage logo

Hawkins takes Earl Hill Memorial

By Staff | Jul 7, 2010

Jacob Hawkins took his second win at the Bullring in as many weeks at the annual Earl Hill Memorial race.

The UFo series landed at Tyler County Saturday for the annual Earl Hill Memorial.

In heat racing action for the Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Models, Jacob Hawkins, Steve Weigle and Robbie Scott took the wins. In the redraw, D J Cline pulled the pole spot with Paul Wilmoth Jr. on the outside.

At the drop of the green Wilmoth rocketed to the lead as Cline, Butch McGill and Jacob Hawkins raced three wide behind him.

Jacob Hawkins began to make his assent to the front, he motored his way to second and pulled even with Wilmoth on lap eight. Richard Frazier got loose in front of the leaders, slowing Wilmoth enough for Hawkins to make his successful bid for the lead. The race stayed green until lap 19 when Frazier looped his mount in turn four. Jacob Hawkins (from fifth), Jared Hawkins (from eighth),Wilmoth, Robbie Scott (from twelfth), and Keith Barbara were the top five.

On the restart, Jared slipped by younger brother Jacob for the front spot. The yellow waved again on lap 20 for Weigle, who spun in turn four, then again on lap 24 for John Mollick who spun in turn four. Jared continued to show the way as Scott raced door to door with Jacob. On lap 31 Scott moved to second. Jared knifed through traffic with Scott trying to close the gap.

A final caution set up a four lap shootout. Scott could not get close enough to Jared to apply any pressure.

It was Hawkins’ second win at the Bullring in as many weeks. Scott, Barbara, Wilmoth and Chad McClellen rounded out the top five.

In the FASTRAK feature Daniel Hill used his outside pole starting position to shoot to the point. With five yellows slowing the 20 lapper, it couldn’t slow Hill to win his second in as many weeks. It was also the second year in a row he won his class on his Grandfather’s Memorial night. Kyle Thomas climbed from fifth to second. Jacob Lash worked his way to third from ninth. Joe Loudin rose from seventh to fourth and Danny Thomas filled out the top five.

After suffering oil pump problems in hot laps last week, Brent Trimble fixed that woe. He jumped to the lead from the outside pole and lead going away the entire distance to claim the Modified feature. Mike Wilson, Brian Probst, and Doug Henry chased Trimble then two time winner Shawn Davis moved in the picture. But when the checkers fell, Trimble was all by himself out front. Wilson, Probst, Davis and David Griffin completed the top five.

Greg Conger drove away and hid from the rest of the field in the Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods. Conger collected his second checkerboard ahead of Glen Underwood, Travis Thomas, Cody Eaton and Mike Lauer.

In the 92.3 Classic Rock Pure Stocks, Brad Thomas and Jeff Fornash put on a great battle for the 15 lapper for the point. When the dust cleared, Fornash made his sixth trip to victory lane. Thomas had to settle for second. Al Wagner crossed in third. Justin Sinnett and Lester Huffman were fourth and fifth.

Tyler Riggs scored his first career heat race win and followed that up leading every lap of the Mod Lite feature. The 14 year old had a career first night parking the #99T in victory lane. Zach Watson (in the #WV2), newcomer Andy Fiel, Brent Irvin and Josh Baldwin followed Riggs across the stripe.

The Champion Sport Cards and Trophies Junkyard Warriors Kevin Dotson shot to the lead and he never looked back enroute to his second first place trophy. Dotson bested Derek Thompson, Donnie Wamsley, Alex Mosser, Bobby Dennison.

The night began with the Bridgeport Equipment Mini Wedges as Ryan Watson took home his sixth first place trophy. Wesley baker, Hunter Partridge, Jordan Doty and Brandon Weigle were second through fifth in the first feature. Alex Frazier scored his first career win in the second feature. Georgie Tennett, Tiffany Jackson, Kylie Cross and Chris Thomas filled out the order.

This week at the Bullring, a full slate of regular classes plus the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association will make a second visit. In two weeks the AMRA Road Warrior Tour invade the ? mile. The reslated Eaton Childers Memorial for Late Models will be July 24. And to fill out a busy July the FASTRAK Mountain Man 25 is the highlight.

Late Models; Jared Hawkins, Robbie Scott, Keith Barbara, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Chad McClellen, Jacob Hawkins, D J Cline, Chuck Harper, Greg Baumberger, Kohn Mollick, Ricky Conley, Steve Weigle, Mike Benedum, Butch McGill, Tommy Beck, Danny Mitchell, Richard Frazier, Bobby Hill, Steve Wilmoth, Billy Brown. DNS; Scott Irvin, Dwight Henry. Heats; Jared Hawkins, Weigle, Scott.

FASTRAK; Daniel Hill, Kyle Thomas, Jacob Lash, Joe Loudin, Danny Thomas, Derek Rogers, Chad Green, Brandon McGrady, Kevin Keene, Michael Griffin, David Gorrell, Brian Rush, Quinton Wyandt, Eddie Starkey, Steven Dotson, John Watson, Melvin Ferguson. Heats; Gorrell, Hill.

Modifieds; Brent Trimble, Mike Wilson, Brian Probst, Shawn Davis, David Griffin, Doug Henry, D J Cline, Robin Ours, Del Cunningham, Randy Clark, Steve Higgins, Ted Beir. Heats; Henry, Trimble.

Hot Mods; Greg Conger, Glen Underwood, Travis Thomas, Cody Eaton, Mike Lauer, Devin Verardi, Anastasia Jones, Lindsey Smarr, Rod Nething, Jason Schott, Donnie Dotson III. Heats; Underwood, Conger.

Pure Stocks; Jeff Fornash, Brad Thomas, Al Wagner, Justin Sinnett, Lester Huffman, Cody Henthorn, Zach Travis, Rob Martin, Derek Cropp, Mike Mason Jr., Brian Mitchell, Chad Tallhammer, Nick Ley, Chris Ice, Rusty Ball, Eric Glover. DNS; Levi Flesher.

Heats; Thomas, Fornash.

Mod Lites; Tyler Riggs, Zach Watson, Andy Fiel, Brent Irvin, Josh Baldwin, Jamie Long, Jamie Watson, Jim Ruckman, Mitch Herrick, Mitch Ward, Brandon Fluharty, Doug Carson. Heats; Fiel, Riggs.

Junkyard Warrior; Kevin Dotson, Derek Thompson, Donnie Wamsley, Alex Mosser, Bobby Davidson, Billy Bunnell, Jonathon Sheets, Larry Cumberledge Jr., Jamie america, Dakota Highley, Andrea Hatfield, Kathy Bell, Jamie Shaw.