homepage logo

Hawkins captures feature win

By Staff | Jun 30, 2010

Heat, humidity, tempers, disqualification’s, blown engines, flat tires, full moon, you name it, it all happened at the Bullring Saturday night.

In the Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Models, after Gary Dalton and Jared Hawkins took heat wins they brought the field to green. Hawkins grabbed the spot, with Dalton and Scott Irvin in tow.

Behind them was Mike Benedum (in his first outing). Butch McGill and Robbie Scott raced three wide for fourth. With the full moon rising, the yellow flag rose numerous times as well. Hawkins stayed in command as Scott made his assent to the front, taking second on the lap eight restart. The top five stayed unchanged as the cautions continued to wave. The final stoppage came on lap 13 when Bobby Hill expired a motor. Hawkins’ tires came in and drove away from the field for his second win in as many days. (He won at Elkins Friday night) Scott, McGill, Dalton and Benedum rounded out the top five.

The FASTRAK finale was much of the same as the yellow rag was unfurled many times. Daniel Hill took the point at the outset. Hill was fending off a determined Kyle Thomas, when Tyler Carpenter entered the fray. The front trio raced ‘under a blanket’ when on lap 10 Carpenter snagged the lead. Cautions continued to wave five more times. Carpenter would cross the stripe first ahead of Hill, Thomas, Jacob Lash, and Danny Thomas. In post race inspection, Carpenter was found 100 pounds light at the scales disqualifying him. Hill was awarded the win. Thomas, Lash, Thomas and Shawn Jett were moved up to the top five.

In a relative uneventful Modified feature, Shawn Davis drove off for his second straight trip to victory lane. Mike Wilson, Del Cunningham, Brian Probst and Darren Glover chased Davis but fell short and finished in that order.

Kenny Isner and Greg Conger put on a great duel at the front of the Sigler Fabrication Hot Mod finale. Isner held Conger at bay to collect his second checkerboard of the season. Glenn Underwood finished third, Travis Thomas and Lindsey Smarr rounded out the top five.

After a one week suspension, Jeff Fornash returned to claim his heat in the WXCR 92.3 Pure Stocks. As the green waved Fornash out dragged Brad Thomas for the point at the outset. Thomas applied pressure but couldn’t get around Fornash. At the half way mark the two raced door to door and made contact in turn two with Thomas zipping away with the lead. Thomas would not relinquish the spot and claimed his second win of the year. Fornash had to settle for second. Al Wagner chased the duo but crossed in third, newcomer Lester Huffman was fourth and Cody Henthorn was fifth.

Making only his third ever visit to Tyler County, Rick Ament from Apollo, Pa. notched his second Mod Lite checkers. Brandon Fluharty applied some pressure but could not make a serious bid. Josh Baldwin got by Brent Irvin late for third. Jamie Watson finished fifth.

In the Champion Sports Cards & Trophies Junkyard Warriors, Derek Thompson and Donnie Walmsley swapped some paint but in the end Thompson took home his second first place trophy. Alex Mosser was third, Troy Frazier driving John Sinnett’s #17 finished fourth. Derrek Hamrick crossed the line in fifth.

Brandon Weigle won his heat then claimed the Bridgeport Equipment & Tool Mini Wedge feature as he bested Kaitlyn Frazier, Wesley baker, Ryan Watson and Shayla Griffey.

Coming this week the Ufo series lands for the Earl Hill Memorial with a 51 lap $5,000 to win race for Late Models. In two weeks the AMRA Road Warrior Tour Modifieds will race for $1,200 to win.

For all the latest information, point standings and more surf to

Late Models; Jared Hawkins, Robbie Scott, Butch McGill, Gary Dalton, Mike Benedum, Jacob Hawkins, Steve Wilmoth, Scott Irvin, Tony Musolino, Brian Eaton, Donnie Dotson, Steve Weigle, Chuck Medved, Bobby Hill, Richardb Frazier, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Danny Mitchell, Tracie Sampson, Stanley Spooner, Jim Quaigg. Heats; Dalton, Jd Hawkins.

FASTRAK; Daniel Hill, Kyle Thomas, Jacob Lash, Danny Thomas, Shawn Jett, Derek Rogers, Joel Prosser, John Watson, Joe Loudin, Michael Griffin, Bill Shaffer, Steven Dotson, Brandon McGrady, Chad Green, Melvin Ferguson, Brian Rush, Eddie Starkey.

DNS; Jamie America. DQed; Tyler Carpenter, Donnie Dotson. Heats; Hill, Loudin.

Modified; Shawn Davis, Mike Wilson, Del Cunningham, Brian Probst, Darren Glover, Tom Sigler, J P Roberts, Derek Smith. Heats; Cunningham, Davis.

Hot Mod; Kenny Isner, Greg Conger, Glenn Underwood, Travis Thomas, Lindsey Smarr, Cody Eaton, Anastasia Jones, Lou Ennis. DNS; Rod Nething. Heats; Isner, Smarr (career first).

Pure Stock; Brad Thomas, Jeff Fornash, Al Wagner, Lester Huffman, Cody henthorn, Levi Flesher, Chris Ice, Rob Martin, Justin Sinnett, Kevin Dotson, Chad Dotson, Mike Mason Jr., Mark Martie, Nick Ley, Randy Bohan. Heats; Fornash, Thomas.

Mod Lite; Rick Ament, Brandon Fluharty, Josh Baldwin, Brent Irvin, Jamie Watson, Jim Ruckman, Tyler Riggs, Mitch Herrick, Jamie Long, Mitch Ward, Daniel Eddy, Zach Watson, Randy Armes, Brock Morris.

Junkyard; Derek Thompson, Donnie Wamsley, Alex Mosser, Troy Frazier, Derrek Hamrick, Larry Cumberledge Jr., Kathy Bell, Tanya Colvin- Perine, Andrea Hatfield, Dakota Highley, Jamie Shaw, David Bunnell.