homepage logo

Stinson grabs OVSA win at Speedway

By Staff | Jun 23, 2010

In the inaugural season, the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association made their first appearance at Tyler County Speedway on Saturday. Jimmy Stinson tripped the clock the quickest with a record breaking time of 10.78 seconds. That translates to about 83.5 mph. average speed around the mile track. Andre Layfield and Jason Dolick collected prelim honors.

When the field roared to life Layfield jumped to the point followed by Dolick, Stinson, Dave Dickson and Aaron Higgins. Layfield continued to show the way, but Dolick began to apply pressure and pulled even on lap seven. Dolick used a lapped car as a pick on lap nine to snag the lead away from Layfield. Stinson also began to work on Layfield for second when on lap 12 Layfield slowed in turn three with a flat right front tire. Dolick, Stinson, Higgins, Dickson and Greg Mitchell were now the top five. Stinson moved to the high groove and reeled in Dolick.

On lap 15 Stinson motored to the front with Dolick in tow. Mitchell brought out the yellow on lap 25 with front end damage on the backchute. Stinson was able to hold off Dolick for the win. Kory Crabtree crossed in third from his eighth starting spot. Charlie Fisher climbed from ninth to fourth and Dickson rounded out the top five.

In the FASTRAK finale, Kyle Thomas withstood five yellow flags and a pack of hungry wolves nipping at his tail to capture his second trip to victory lane. Daniel Hill chased Thomas the entire distance but had to settle for second. Shawn Jett crossed in third, Danny Thomas was fourth. Steve Weigle, driving Michael Griffin’s #11 finished fifth.

After three tries at green the AMRA Modifieds finally got a lap in. Pole setter Shawn Davis drove off and hid from the rest of the field cruising to his first win of the season. Brian Probst came across the stripe in second. Darren Glover, driving Steve Higgins’ #7H finished third. Del Cunningham and Derek Smith filled out the top five.

Bill Sigmon took the white flag in the Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods, but got loose entering turn one letting Travis Thomas zip by for the lead and eventual win. Sigmon had to settle for second. Devin Verardi was third, Luke Fairburn finished fourth. Fifth went top Mike Lauer.

It was the Thomas’ show in the WXCR 92.3 Pure Stocks. Danny Thomas driving, Jeff Fornash’s #99, and Brad Thomas occupied the front row. The duo raced door to door for most of the 15 lapper and never touched. Brad edged Danny at the stripe for the win. Chris Ice was poised for a mistake from the front two but didn’t get the chance, as he finished third. Levi Flesher finished fourth and Al Wagner filled out the top five.

Father and son started on the front row of the Mod Lites with dad Lynn Knepper on the inside and Alan on the outside. Lynn lead the entire distance, almost. On the final circuit Alan used a slide job for the lead and win. Lynn finished second. Brandon Fluharty, Josh Baldwin, and Brent Irvin were third through fifth.

Champion Sports Cards and Trophies Junkyard Warriors had a first time winner park in victory lane. Alex Mosser held off the rabid field to score his first win. Donnie Wamsley trailed Mosser across the line. Derek Thompson, Justin Freeland, Andrea Hatfield

were third through fifth.

Ryan Watson held off Alec Frazier and Kaitlyn Frazier to collect his fifth Bridgeport Equipment and Tool Mini Wedge feature. Jordan Doty and Shayle Griffey were fourth and fifth.

Next week at the “Bullring” will be regular racing in all classes with a $8 general admission price tag.

Coming in two weeks the Ufo series lands for the $5,000 to win Earl Hill Memorial for Late Models.

For all the latest information, point standings and more go to www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com


OVSCA – Jimmy Stinson, Jason Dolick, Kory Crabtree, Charlie Fisher, Dave Dickson, Josh Davis, Chris Meyers, Brian Benson, Aaron Higgins, The Phantom, Tim Mosher, Greg Mitchell, Andre Layfield, Sam Mosher. Fast Time; Jimmy Stinson 10.78. Heats: Layfield, Dolick.

FASTRAK – Kyle Thomas, Daniel Hill, Shawn Jett, Danny Thomas, Steve Weigle, Brian Rush, Melvin Ferguson, Randy Gibson, Jacob Lash, Eddie Starkey, Jamie America, Joel Prosser, Derek Doll, John Watson. Heats: Thomas, Prosser.

AMRA Modified – Shawn Davis, Brian Probst, Darren Glover, Derek Smith, J P Roberts, Ted Beir, Justin Hart, Tom Sigler, Mike Wilson. DNS; Brent Trimble. Heats; Davis, Probst.

Hot Mods – Travis Thomas, Bill Sigmon, Devin Verardi, Luke Fairburn, Mike Lauer, Kenny Isner, Rod Nething, Lindsey Smarr, Anastasia Jones, Kurt Burge, Greg Conger, Codi Eaton, Glenn Underwood, Bobby Long Jr. Heats; Thomas, Conger.

Pure Stocks – Brad Thomas, Danny Thomas, Chris Ice, Levi Flesher, Al Wagner, Nick Ley, Mike Mason Jr., Chad Dotson, Cody Henthorn, Justin Sinnett, Chad Tallhammer, Mark Martie, David Block, Zach Travis, Josh Golden, Dan Shuman. Heats; B. Thomas, D. Thomas.

Mod Lite – Alan Knepper, Lynn Knepper, Brandon Fluharty, Josh Baldwin, Brent Irvin,

Jamie Long, Jim Ruckman, Tyler Riggs, Chris Kincaid, Jamie Watson, Daniel Eddy, Mitch Ward, Sonny Conley, Mitch Herrick. DNS; Tony Tatgenhorst. Heats; L. Knepper, A. Knepper.

Junkyard Warriors – Alex Mosser, Donnie Wamsley, Derek Thompson, Justin Freeland, Andrea Hatfield, Larry Cumberledge Jr., Jonathon Sheets, Kathy Bell, Glenn Stout, David Bunnell, Dakota Highley, Tanya Colvin Perine.