homepage logo

Rain wins again

By Staff | Jun 9, 2010

Mother Nature again turned on the water and halted racing for the fourth time at Middlebourne.

This week at the Bullring will be the rescheduled 7th annual Eaton / Childers King of the Ring. The race originally started in 1999 with the Beecher Eaton Memorial with Gary Dalton winning.

That race never ran again but in 2002 Bobby Hill won the inaugural Bill Childers Memorial. Hill repeated his success the next year.

In 2004 the race became the Eaton / Childers King of the Ring. Steve Wilmoth grabbed the biggest victory of his career that year.

The recent winners are a list of who’s who in dirt racing. 2005 Steve Shaver, 2006 Mike Balzano, 2007 Paul Wilmoth Jr., 2008 Rick Aukland, 2009 Eddie Carrier Jr. Expect some of these and many other hotshoes vying for the $5,000 check. Coming in two weeks will be the first ever appearance by the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association for 410 sprints.