homepage logo

Wilmoth takes WV State Championship

By Staff | May 19, 2010

After two weeks of rainouts Tyler County got back into action Saturday with the second leg of the W.V. State Championship series for the Dodd’s Sporting Goods Late Models. Robbie Scott, Jason Dupont and Billy Brown scored the heat wins.

As the field came to life after one false start, the front row of Scott and Dupont made hard contact leaving the door open for Wilmoth. “The Gambler” shot by for the lead with Scott, Butch McGill, Brown, and Jacob Hawkins in tow. With only two yellows, Wilmoth set a fast pace for the entire distance. In the closing circuits lapped traffic held Wilmoth enough to let Scott close in on his tail, but could not make a pass. Wilmoth claimed his second win of the year, and second of the series. Scott, McGill, Hawkins, and Gary Dalton filled out the top five.

In the makeup FASTRAK feature from May 1, Shawn Jett grabbed the lead at the green flag with Joe Loudin, Max Blair, Mike Pegher and K C Burdette occupying the top five. Blair blasted by Loudin and Jett for the front slot on lap two. The caution flag waved on laps 10, restart of 10, re-restart of lap 10, 16, 17 and 18. With the yellow fever going on, a familiar sight developed. Blair and Pegher were the front duo yet again, racing door to door. Pegher turned up the heat and zipped by Blair on lap on lap 21. Pegher was able to hold off Blair for the win. Mike Blose charged to third, Kyle Thomas and Gary Knollinger Jr. completed the top five. Blair clipped the pylon in turn two on the last lap penalizing him two spots. That moved Blose to second, Thomas in third and Blair back to fourth. After the race, FASTRAK disqualified Pegher for unsportsmanlike conduct giving Blose the win. Thomas, Blair, Gary Knollinger Jr., and Josh Holtgraver completed the top five.

In the regular FASTRAK feature Jacob Lash used his pole position to grab the point. K C Burdette, Kyle Thomas, Mike Pegher and Butch Lambert were the early top five. Lash continued to show the way as Burdette began to drop in the order by lap nine. The caution came out on lap 14 for a spin by Joe Martin. On the restart Thomas got under Lash in turn one as Lash broke loose coming around. Thomas was the new leader with Daniel Hill second, Pegher, Burdette and Freddie Carpenter the top five. When the checkers fell Thomas would claim his first win of the year. Hill, Burdette, Pegher and Aaron Barley were the top five.

Mike Wilson started on the outside pole and out dragged Rick Venham Jr. to turn one in the AMRA Modified finale. “The Bird” would lead wire to wire enroute to his first trip to victory lane this season. Tom Sigler, Del Cunningham, Venham, and Dusty Boley followed him across the stripe.

The Sigler Fabrication Hot Mods had a new winner as Jason Schott fended off the field for his first career checkerboard. Greg Conger climbed from ninth to finish second. Devin Verardi, Kenny Isner, and Travis Thomas were third through fifth.

Apollo Pennsylvania’s Rick Ament made only his second appearance at the Bullring a successful one. Ament won his heat and would lead flag to flag for the Mod Lite win. Sonny Conley, Brandon Fluharty, Jamie Watson and Brent Irvin gave chase but could not catch Ament.

Jeff Fornash won the first heat in the WXCR Classic Rock Pure Stocks, took the lead in the feature and never looked back for his fourth win. Bryan Mitchell made his debut, he applied some pressure to Fornash but could not made a serious bid. Mike Mason was third, Levi Flesher was fourth and Chris Ice finished fifth.

David Bunnell and Donnie Wamsley put on a great duel in the Champion Sport Card and Awards Junkyard Warrior feature. Bunnell collected his second first place trophy as he bested Wamsley, Larry Cumberledge Jr., Alex Mosser, and Jonathan Sheets.

In the Bridgeport Equipment and Tool Mini Wedges, Brandon Weigle finished ahead of Kaitlyn Frazier, Georgie Tennett, Jordan Doty and Wesley Barker in the first feature. Ryan Watson notched his fourth trophy. Trey Watson, Hunter Partridge, Tiffany Jackson and Shayla Griffey were second through fifth.

Next week at the Bullring, the AMRA Road Warriors invade the fast one-fourth mile for $1,200 to win.Plus regular racing in all other classes. For all the latest information, point standings and more surf over to HYPERLINK www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.


Late Models: Paul Wilmoth Jr., Robbie Scott, Butch McGill, Jacob Hawkins, Gary Dalton, Jason Dupont, Steve Weigle, Billy Brown, Greg Baumberger, Ricky Williams, Bobby Hill, Richard Frazier, Josh Coffman, Dannie Ruza, Donnie Dotson, Scott Irvin, Tracie Sampson, Brandon McGrady. Heats: Scott, Dupont, Brown.

FASTRAK (makeup): Mike Blose, Kyle Thomas, Max Blair, Gary Knollinger Jr., Josh Holtgraver, Shane Hitt, Joe Martin, K C Burdette, Daniel Hill, Freddie Carpenter, Shawn Jett, Joe Loudin, Bud Watson, Kris Southern, Butch Lambert, Michael Griffin, Aaron Barley, Joel Prosser, John Watson, Chad Green, Melvin Ferguson, David Gorrell, Josh Double. DQed: Mike Pegher Heats: Blair, Jett, Burdette, Holtgraver. Consey: Southern.

FASTRAK: Kyle Thomas, Daniel Hill, K C Burdette, Mike Pegher, Aaron Barley, Josh Holtgraver, Gary Knollinger Jr., Shane Hitt, Michael Griffin, Shawn Jett, Butch Lambert, Chad Green, Derek Doll, Joe Martin, Freddie Carpenter, Jacob Lash, Joel Prosser, Bud Watson Heats: Lash, Burdette, Thomas, Pegher. Consey #1: Knollinger jr. #2 Jett..

AMRA Modified: Mike Wilson, Tom Sigler, Del Cunningham, Rick Venham Jr., Dusty Boley, Brian Probst, Gerald Deitch, Steve Higgins, Ted Beir. Heats: Venham Jr., Wilson.

Hot Mods: Jason Schott, Greg Conger, Devin Verardi, Kenny Isner, Travis Thomas, Glenn Underwood, Mike Lauer, Luke Fairburn, Cody Eaton, Rod Nething, Anastasia Jones, Lindsey Smarr, Kurt Burge, Bill Sigmon. DNS: Lou Ennis Heats: Verardi, Schott.

Mod Lite: Rick Ament, Sonny Conley, Brandon Fluharty, Jamie Watson, Brent Irvin, Jamie Long, Jim Ruckman, Brian Harrington, Daniel Eddy, Cody Brightwell, Mitch Herrick, Tyler Riggs, Chris Kincaid, Josh Baldwin. Heats: Ament, Conley.

Pure Stock: Jeff Fornash, Bryan Mitchell, Mike Mason, Levi Flesher, Chris Ice, Cody Henthorn, Justin Sinnett, Mike Mason, Josh Golden, Mark Martie, Scott Meeker, Al Junkyard Warriors: David Bunnell, Donnie Wamsley, Larry Cumberledge Jr., Alex Mosser, Jonathan Sheets, Bobby Dennison, Derek Thompson, Dakota Highley, Kevin Dotson, Billy Bunnell, Andrea Hatfield.