homepage logo

Tyler Consolidated Students attend National TSA Conference

By Staff | Jul 10, 2013

Tyler County TSA Students attend the National TSA Conference in Orlando, Florida.

Members of the Tyler Consolidated Technology Student Association (TSA) recently attended the 35th Annual National TSA Conference in Orlando, Florida. From June 28th – July 2nd, 20 TSA students from Tyler Consolidated Middle and High School competed at the national level against 6000 students from all over the country as well as other countries such as Germany and Turkey.

The TSA conference enables student to engage in competitions, special interest sessions, leadership workshops, and general sessions. TSA offers many opportunities to grow as a competitor and leader.

17 TCHS and 3 TCMS students represented Tyler County and the state of West Virginia at this national conference. 7 of the 17 high school students were finalists in their individual/group projects.

Finalists included Caroline Bantug, Promotional Graphics; Carly Fletcher and Sydney Reed, Biotechnology Design; Noah Garrison and Corey Wells, SciVis; and Kris Lashbrook and Ty Klages, Structural Engineering. Finalists are students/groups that place in the top 10 of their competitions. Placing in the top 10 is a huge accomplishment in itself, said JC Kimble, TSA Advisor.

1 of these finalist groups placed 2nd overall in the Structural Engineering competition, and this group consisted of Kris Lashbrook and Ty Klages. These students had to create box beam structure that had to have the best efficiency rating as compared to the weight of the object and the amount of weight the structure could hold. This competition easily had over 100 different groups competing. “These boys are to be commended for the hard work and efforts, and it’s is an amazing accomplishment,” said JC Kimble, TSA Advisor.

The Tyler Consolidate High School TSA team consisted of Caroline Bantug, Hillary Casteel, Brandon Collins, Randy Eastham, Daniel Eddy, Noah Garrison, Carly Fletcher, Tom Keller, Ty Klages, John Lancaster, Kris Lashbrook, Hunter LeMasters, Sydney Reed, Swen Scheidemantel, Scott Sole, Allison Wable, and Corey Wells with advisor, JC Kimble.

The Tyler Consolidated Middle School TSA team consisted of Makaila Brown, Levi Hudson, and Kamron Milhoan with advisor, Ashley Moore.