homepage logo

Board of Education Members Sworn-In to Office

By Staff | Jul 15, 2020


The Tyler County Board of Education met on Monday, July 6. The meeting began with Linda Hoover and Curtis Heintzman being sworn into office. All members were present at the meeting.

The Board then continued to elect officers. Linda Hoover was nominated and elected as President, while Katrina Byers was nominated and elected as Vice President of the Board. Following the elections, the Board appointed members to different committees. Katrina Byers was appointed to the Extension Service, Larry Thomas was appointed to the MOVTI Council, Dave Roberts was appointed to the Middlebourne Library Board, and Curtis Heintzman was appointed to the Sistersville Library Board.

Superintendent Highley reported the TCHS athletic teams were requesting permission to use alternate locations for practice during the construction of the new stadium if it were to continue into August. Highley said that he expects the soccer and football fields be complete and ready to go by August.

Highley also said he was expecting to hold another re-entry meeting on July 16. “Right now, we’re trying to hit a moving target and that’s hard. We think we have a good plan,” he said.

Highley then reported they have had two professional development sessions. According to Highley, the staff is able to participate in these sessions virtually or in person.


He also updated the board on the projects taking place. He reported the press box was being delivered for the Stadium. He also reported the crew is optimistically hoping to have the bus garage completed by Thanksgiving, however they are contracted through January 2021.

The following employments were approved: Angie Baker as Cook/Cafeteria Manager, Erin Cooper as ECCAT/Aide, Shawna Cochran as ECCAT/Aide, Debbie Kelley as ECCAT/Aide, Vanessa Owens as ECCAT/Aide, Brittany Flesher as Itinerant ECCAT/Aide, Seth Patterson as TSA Advisor at TCMS, Tomela Paden as Community Service Coordinator at TCMS, Adam Haywood as Yearbook Advisor at TCMS, Linda Kile as Substitute Custodian, and Cindy Hilvers, Linda Kile, Jennifer Morris, Suzie Nichols, and Sarah Tallman as Substitute Classroom Aides.

Following the approval of the payment of the bills, the meeting was adjourned.