homepage logo

Tyler County Re-Elects Weigle as Sheriff

By Staff | Jun 17, 2020


Residents of Tyler County took to the voting polls this past week in order to cast their ballots. Primary Election Day, which was originally to take place on May 12, was held in Tyler County on Tuesday, June 9.

Tyler County voting saw participation from over 60 percent of Republicans, nearly 40 percent of Democrats, and less than three percent non-partisan.

In a hotly contested Sheriff race between incumbent Brian Weigle and Benjamin Placer, Weigle came out on top with 1,435 votes. Placer finished with 544 votes.

Lance Hickman claimed a seat on the Tyler County Commission, beating out long-time Commissioner John Stender. Stender, who has been on Tyler County Commission for 12 years, had 764 votes, while Hickman came out with 1,182 votes.

Running unopposed was Luke Furbee, who was re-elected to the Tyler County Prosecuting Attorney position with 1,666 votes.


The Tyler County Board of Education will welcome back Linda Hoover, as well as new-comer Curtis Heintzman.

Hoover was voted in with 1,305 votes, and Heintzman received 1,116 votes. Also in the running was David P.J. Wells who claimed 1,047 votes, and Forest Drew Moore who came out of the race with 976 votes.

Incumbent Lisa Jackson won the Tyler County Assessor race with 1,482 votes, beating out Chad Swiger, who received 436 votes.

Roy Haught, who ran unopposed, claimed 1,811 votes for Tyler County Surveyor.

Tyler County Magistrate will have Mary Dotson and Michael “Mike” Griffin return to the open positions. Dotson garnered 2,319 votes, while Griffin came out with 2,374 votes.