homepage logo

Hali Westcott Awarded 2020 Adam R. Kelly Memorial Scholarship

By Staff | Jun 3, 2020

Hali Westcott

KIDWELL – Tyler Consolidated High School senior Hali Westcott is this year’s recipient of the Adam R. Kelly Memorial Scholarship Award.

The announcement was made during the Class of 2020 virtual commencement exercises held Thursday, May 21.

Westcott is the daughter of Kathleen and Kirk Parker of Sistersville. She plans to attend West Virginia Wesleyan in the fall to pursue a degree in biology and pre-veterinary medicine. Her goal is acceptance to the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine to earn a degree in veterinary medicine.

The $500 scholarship is given annually to a graduating senior from TCHS in honor of the late “Country Editor” columnist. It was established in June 1990 in memory of Kelly, who died three months earlier at the age of 65.

Kelly moved to Sistersville in 1954 and remained there until the time of his death, serving as editor and publisher of the Tyler Star News until 1979. He then began writing “The Country Editor” column, which appeared in the Wheeling Intelligencer and News-Register, and several other West Virginia publications. Kelly won numerous state and national awards for his pieces.

From 1990 to 1993, two scholarships were given each year to Tyler County graduating seniors.

The scholarship committee considered candidates from both Sistersville and Tyler County high schools, selecting one recipient each year from each school.

When the two county high schools were consolidated in September 1993, the scholarship committee opted to award one scholarship to a Tyler Consolidated senior.

Applicants must submit a resume along with an essay titled “In Defense of Freedom.”

They are also interviewed by the scholarship committee. The students’ applications, essays, academic achievements, extracurricular activities, college plans and financial need are assessed by the committee members during the selection process.

As a student at Tyler Consolidated, Westcott was president of both the National Honor Society and the National Art Honor Society. She earned the Community Service Award and Arts Alive Award for two years and earned her FFA Greenhand Degree. Westcott was captain of the TCHS varsity soccer team and also participated in track.

Her high school concentration courses in science and math included biology, physics, chemistry, anatomy, algebra, trigonometry, and calculus. She took several AP level classes in both science and math.

Other past recipients of the Adam R. Kelly Memorial Scholarship Award are: 1990, Shelly Dawn Craven and Ryan Joseph Morgan; 1991, Betsy J. Snyder and Charles “Chip” Hendricks II; 1992, Daniel J. Hanood and Ken Ferrell; 1993, Amanda Diane Myers and Joshua Gurtler; 1994, Jodi Livingston; 1995, Brandice Cherilynne Smith; 1996, Nancy Carolyn Myers; 1997, Luke N. Peters; 1998, Karen Folger; 1999, Catherine E. Peters; 2000, Leann M. Kucharski; 2001, Erin Wilt; 2002, Michael A. Smith; 2003, Brian F. Rohrig; 2004, J. Lance McKeever; 2005, Thomas Andrew “Drew” Carson; 2006, Jessica B. Kisner; 2007, Adam Scott Knowlton; 2008, Linda Bassett; 2009, Zach Perkey; 2010, Emily D. Thomas; 2011, Blaine Rice; 2012, Tara Weese; 2013, Martina M. Parrish; 2014, Amanda Dawson; 2015, Sydney Elizabeth Yoho; 2016, Katlyn O. Seckman; 2017, Courtney Hoder; 2018, Isabella Camerlin; and 2019, Emily Lancaster.

The scholarship fund was endowed through contributions from area businesses, friends, and newspaper journalists from throughout the state. Additionally, an Adam R. Kelly Memorial Golf Tournament was held for three years at the Sistersville Country Club, where Kelly was a member.