homepage logo

Top Students Honored At Banquet

By Staff | Apr 17, 2019

Academic Hall of Fame inductees. Front Row, Katie Pratt, Emily Jackson, Emily Litten, Alaina Thompson, and Miranda Weekley. Middle Row, Bobbin Pardine, Tom Frawley, Nicholas Gorby, Matthew Rexroad, Noah Smith, Destry Nelson, Ann Helmick, and Savannah Jeffers, Back Row, Rebecca Gill, April Pierce, Tina Bell, Olivia Osborn, and Marci Davis.

he top students from Tyler County and Paden City schools were recognized at annual awards ceremonies last week, sponsored by Peoples Bank of Tyler/Wetzel Counties.

Ceremonies for students in grades 5-8 were held at Tyler Consolidated on April 9 with awards presented to students in grades 9-12 were held on April 11.

Master of ceremonies for the events, Michael Myer, Executive Editor of the Intelligencer and the Wheeling New-Register, praised Peoples Bank for continuing the tradition of supporting local students and their achievements. More than 8,800 have been honored at these ceremonies during the past 41 years.

Invocation for the 5-8 ceremony was led by Amos Kimble, student at Arthur I. Boreman Elementary. Invocation for the 9-12 ceremony was led by Matthew Rexroad, student at Paden City High School.

Entertainment was provided by the Tyler Consolidated High School Jazz Band, under the direction of Matt Jennings (for the middle school program) and the Tyler Consolidated High School Choir, under the direction of Bryce Negie (high school program).

Following the entertainment, Tracy Jensen, Vice President of Consumer Relations for Peoples Bank, was the guest speaker for the middle school awards program. Thomas Frawley, Senior Vice President of Consumer Lending for Peoples Bank was the featured speaker for the high school ceremonies.

The recognition certificates were presented to students in attendance. Sistersville Branch Manager of Peoples Bank, Tina Bell and New Martinsville Branch Manager of Peoples Bank, April Pierce handled the presentation of certificates to the following students:

A.I. Boreman Elementary School Grade 5: Deseree Brown, Keith Doyle, Emily Fetty, Lily Haught, Parker Hayes, Ryland Henderson, Wyatt Keller, Amos Kimble, Sawyer Kunkel, Cora Lough, Isabella Murray, Phranki Myers, Dane Nelson, Bryce Nichols, Graci Rader, Hevyn Thomas, Lily Thompson, Kayden Utt, and Keyonna Weber.

Paden City Elementary School Grade 5: Haven Anderson, Caroline Green, Jessup Higgins, Shandi Lively, and Ashton Wade.

PCES Grade Six: Riley Blake, Akira Burchard, Aiyanna Higgins, and MacKenzie Simpkins.

Sistersville Elementary School Grade 5: Nicholas Ashworth, Gabrielle Dill, Kathryn Grimm, Arianna Hartline, Dalton Hayes, Kyra Nolan, Nadia Turner, and Mckenzie Utt.

Tyler Consolidated Middle School Grade Six: Donald Benefiel, Chelsey Cooper, Mia Crawford, Jaden Ebert, Abigail Eddy, Aislinn Franks, Belladolce Garuccio, Wesley Glover, Ava Gorrell, Gabriel Jackson, Isaac Jackson, Alexis Livingston, Cole Moore, Colby Nichols, Lexus Rocchio, Beau Thomas, Trenton Webster, and William Wirth.

TCMS Grade 7: Shane Bates, Sydney Deaton, Zoe Hamilton, Kaylee Haught, Ashton Jackson, Jacob Lancaster, Hayden Montgomery, Landon Morse, Erin Riffle, Chance Rine, Braeden Wall, Maleah Weber, Owen Westbrook, and Layla Williamson.

TCMS Grade 8: Larissa Ahouse, Lea Ahouse, Justin Barker, Charles Brown, Leah Cathers, Wesley Drake, Emily Ebert, Garrett Freeland, Bruce Garuccio, Carson Gorby, Emily Gorby, Jesse Griffith, Dylan Grimm, Caitlyn Hayes, Christopher Hayes, Jayden Helmick, Walker Hoover, Trenton Huffman, Gwendolyn Jacenkiw, Trinity Kanz, Abbigail Kimble, Leah Loudin, Madison Lovejoy, Maeson Maxwell, Sierra Morris, Mason Nichols, Kaci Shanabarger, Autumn Shepherd, Austin VanCamp, Ty Walton, Brooklyn Wayne, Mallory Westbrook, and Evan Wise.

Paden City High School Grade 7: Farrah Beasley, Isaac Beverlin, Talan Chambers, Ava Giovinazzo, Rayna Smith, Madylen Still, Carlee Sweeney, and Jeremiah Thomas.

PCHS Grade 8: Liam Clements, Faith Duncan, Jaslyn Harn, Alyssa James, Malaree Kline, Tanley McEldowney, William McGinnis, Isabella Snider, McKenzie Thomas.

PCHS Grade 9: Alec Chaplin, Brandon Hizer, Gavin Lewis, Hallie McDonald and Jasup Spragg.

PCHS Grade 10: Kelsey Michael, Isaac Neff, Rachel Price, Maggi Still, Hope Weber and Mallory Yeater.

PCHS Grade 11: Cora Anderson, Isabella Beverlin, Cameron Dennis, Anya Glover, Caleb Howell and Abbe Stackpole.

PCHS Grade 12: Hope Cooper, Delainey Lantz, Hannah Loy, Matthew Michael and Matthew Rexroad.

TCHS Grade 9: Garrett Ammons, Madeline Cecil, Jamie Daugherty, Audrey Dennis, Jocelyn Foltz, Kate Gorrell, Alissa Greathouse, Emma Grimes, Ayden Hoover, Abigail Ice, Dakota Jones, Avery Kempt, Caleigh Phillips, Jordyn Potoczny, Shauna Riggs, Hannah Shreves, Madeline Tarnecki, Briann Templeton, Ardynn Weekley, Madison White and Victoria Yost.

TCHS Grade 10: Abigail Barnhart, Hadyn Brown, Haley Cremona, Abigail Ebert, Alexis Huffman, Madeline Ice, Hailey Lane, Sebastian Logemann, Isaac Melvin, Sadie Nichols, Mackenzie Perine, Hallie Placer, Matthew Riddle, Regan Smith, Sydney Smith, Katelyn Stillwagoner and Abigail Thompson.

TCHS Grade 11: Creed Ammons, Samantha Barnhart, Hailey Cook, Madison DeVaughn, Anna Griffith, Anna Grimes, Rachal Hashman, Sarah Hashman, Alexisw Helmick, Kaytlyn Henthorn, Logan Jackson, Shawn Jones, Shiann Jones, George Kester, Garrett Littell, Ashlyn Miller, Katie Miller, Kimberly Owens, Nachelle Probst, Amie Robinson, Jacob Sharp, Nicholas Spencer, Benjamin Stackpole, James Tanner, Rachel Thomas, Judah Turner, Avery West and Hali Westcott.

TCHS Grade 12: Nathan Barker, Grace Betts, Tori Cremona, Haley Fletcher, Nicholas Gorby, Katlyn Griffey, Cora Grimm, Michael Hogue, Emily Jackson, Josey Jones, Trey Keys, Peyton Kocher, Emily Litten, Cia Loy, Hattie Murphy, Destry Nelson, Griffin Phillips, Haiden Placer, Katie Pratt, Garry Seckman, Noah Smith, Sabrina Smith, Kassidy Starkey, David Stoller, Lindsay Streets, George Tennant, Alaina Thompson, Marie Vandruff, Megan Vandruff, Brianna Wade, Jolee Walton, Miranda Weekley, Brandon Wise and Sierra Wright.

Ten students received special recognition for achieving eight consecutive years in the top 10 percent of their class, thereby earning them a place in the Academic Hall of Fame: Paden City’s Hannah Loy and Matthew Rexroad; and Tyler Consolidated’s Nicholas Gorby, Emily Jackson, Emily Litten, Destry Nelson, Katie Pratt, Noah Smith, Alaina Thompason and Miranda Weekley.

At both the Middle School and High School program, several cash prizes were drawn for students in attendance and Peoples Bank presented a $1,000 scholarship, won by Alaina Thompson.