homepage logo

Students of Month, Essay Winners Honored

By Staff | Apr 10, 2019

Photo by Maddisen Eidel Some of the Sistersville Elks Lodge Junior Teenagers of the Month pose for a photo.

The Sistersville Elks Lodge #333 held its 14th annual Youth Awards Dinner on March 27 in the Elks Ballroom. This event was held in order to commemorate the Students of the Month and the Americanism Essay winners for all of their hard work and dedication. The evening began with an Elks representative welcoming all students and their families, all Elk members, and the school faculty present to show their support of the students involved.

Members of the Elks Lodge then served all present a meal that was well enjoyed by attendees.

Following dinner and a time of fellowship for all friends and families present, the Elks representative thanked the cooks – comprised of Elks officers, trustees, members, their wives, and their families. He then introduced the following distinguished guests: Tyler Consolidated High School (TCHS) Principal Kent Yoho, Tyler County Schools Superintendent Robin Daquilante, TCHS Guidance Counselor Pam Stollings, Tyler Consolidated Middle School (TCMS) Guidance Counselor Beth Andexler, TCMS Principal Jamie Nelson, one officer in the Elks Lodge Jim Mcintyre, Elks officers Mitch and Jonay Corley, and Head of the Americanism Contest Bernie Johnson.

At this time, Johnson explained that the this year’s Americanism Essay Contest question was “What Makes You Proud To Be An American?” Each essay winner was given a certificate of achievement and a check for $50.

The following students received this award: Caroline Greene from Paden City Elementary, Ethan Ray Goddard from A.I. Boreman Elementary, Hevyn Thomas from A.I. Boreman Elementary, Dane Nelson from A.I. Boreman Elementary, McKenzie Utt from Sistersville Elementary, Sam Stanaland from Sistersville Elementary, and Nick Ashworth from Sistersville Elementary.

Pictured are a few of the Sistersville Elks Lodge Senior Teenagers of the Month.

Johnson thanked all participants for their work on the essays, and for submitting them.

Following this, certificates were handed out for all students who had received the title of Student of the Month. While some students were missing due to a TSA conference and various sports activities, the Elks Lodge still honored them for this achievement.

The following students received the title of Junior Teenager of the Month: Trinity Kanz, Wesley Drake, Maeson Maxwell, Carson Gorby, Abbi Kimble, Jake Boggs, Mallory Westbrook, Ty Walton, Sierra Morris, Austin VanCamp, Kashia Brown and Brody Seckman.

The following students received the title of Senior Teenager of the Month: Alaina Thompson, Hunter Doak, Miranda Weekley, Destry Nelson, Emily Lancaster, George Tennant, JoLee Walton, Trey Keys, Josey Jones, Haiden Placer, Haley Fletcher, and David Stoller Jr.

It was then said that the Elks sponsors monthly scholarships, Boy Scouts troops, Hoop Shoot, Soccer Shoot, school groups, school bands, school clubs, community activities, baseball and softball teams, and the Hot Dog Feed during the football season. They also back up veterans, participate in drug awareness, assist with the Nature Project – which was said to be a camp in West Virginia for handicapped children – and the Americanism Contest. The Elks Lodge also gives out scholarships including the Most Valuable Student Scholarship and the Legacy Award.

After this announcement, the Elks announced the Teenagers of the Year. It was explained this position can advance to a regional competition and then to states. All winners would have to send another application in and complete a scrapbook with pictures and awards in it.

The Junior Teenagers of the Year were announced first. The winners were Abbi Kimble and Carson Gorby.

Next was the announcement of the Senior Teenagers of the Year. The winners of this category were Miranda Weekley and Trey Keys.

All four students were congratulated, and the Elks thanked all students and parents for their participation in the banquet.