homepage logo

TCMS 7/8 Band Named 2019 State Honor Band

By Staff | Feb 13, 2019

The Tyler Consolidated Middle School 7th and 8th Grade Band has been named the 2019 WV Middle School State Honor Band.

The Tyler Consolidated Middle School 7th and 8th Grade Band has been named the 2019 West Virginia Middle School State Honor Band. The band earned this title while being considered against schools whose enrollment is two or three times the size of TCMS.

Mr. Jennings submitted recordings of three selections several weeks ago and they were considered by a panel of judges, including directors from Penn State, Illinois State, George Southern, Grove City College, and Southern Mississippi. To even be considered, they had to score a 90 percent or better in their rubric – which they exceeded.

Knowing the potential of this group, Jennings began working on this goal nearly a year ago when former Knights Band Director Wayne Smith assisted in helping to select music for the group. They then began rehearsing these pieces last May. Jennings stated, “It has been a long, but extremely rewarding process.

This is the first TCMS Band to have started band in 5th Grade and I have had many of them since they were in Kindergarten.” Jennings was the music specialist at A. I. Boreman Elementary from 2007 to 2016 when he replaced Wayne Smith at Tyler Consolidated. “Seventeen of these members will be making a second appearance as a state honors ensemble. The AIB After-School Choir and Percussion was selected as an honor group in 2016,” remarked Jennings.

As the Middle School State Honor Band, they will perform a concert in the Charleston Civic Center at the state music conference on Friday, March 8 at 7 p.m.

This is the second Tyler Consolidated Band to be named the State Honor Band as the TCHS Wind Ensemble was the 2008 High School State Honor Band.

Other state honor groups to be selected so far are: Jefferson High School Band, University High School Band, and the Wheeling Park High School Choir.

In order to prepare for the event, the TCMS band will be performing at A.I. Boreman and Sistersville Elementary on Feb. 21.

TCMS 7th and 8th Grade Band Members:

Kashia Brown, Emily Ebert, Trinity Kanz, Raylynn Roberts, Hayden Montgomery, Aubrey Smith, Hailey Tanner, and Trevor Wise (Flute); Autumn Shepherd, Harley Morrison, Elizabeth Paden, and Simone Turner (Clarinet); Gwen Jacenkiw, Madison Lovejoy, Mallory Westbrook, Gavin Dennis, and Owen Westbrook (Alto Saxophone); Carlee Dye and Maleah Weber (Tenor Saxophone); Sydney Deaton (Baritone Saxophone); Emily Gorby, Grace Howell, Havannah Lemasters, Mason Nichols , Brody Seckman, Kaci Shanabarger, Savana Forrester, Lilly Nice, and Bella Throckmorton (Trumpet); Austin VanCamp, Analeigh Hakes, Aiden Swan (French Horn); Jesse Griffith, Peyton Hayes, Abbigail, Kimble, Kaylee Haught, and Braeden Wall (Trombone); Landen Miller and Chandler Ash (Euphonium); Kellen Franks and Harley Yeater (Tuba); Jaden Ebert, Jordan Krajcovic, Beau Thomas, Trenton Webster, Zayd Al-Janaby, Trenton Baker, Elias Haught, Regan Stover, Nate Stollings (Percussion).