homepage logo

Wetzel, Tyler Men Admit To Drug Distribution Connection

By Staff | Aug 13, 2018

WHEELING, WEST VIRGINIA — Joshua Cathers, of Sistersville, W.Va., and Ronald Morgan, of New Martinsville, W.Va., have admitted to their involvement in methamphetamine, cocaine, and heroin distribution that spanned multiple states, United States Attorney Bill Powell announced.

Cathers, age 38, pleaded guilty Monday, Aug. 13 to one count of “Distribution of Methamphetamine.” Cathers admitted selling methamphetamine in November 2017 in Tyler County.

Morgan, age 50, pleaded guilty on Friday, Aug. 10 to one count of “Aiding and Abetting Distribution of Methamphetamine” Morgan admitted to selling methamphetamine in March 2017 in Tyler County.

Cathers and Morgan each face up to 20 years incarceration and a fine of up to $1,000,000. Under the Federal Sentencing Guidelines, the actual sentence imposed will be based upon the seriousness of the offenses and the prior criminal history, if any, of the defendant.

Assistant U.S. Attorneys Robert H. McWilliams, Jr., and Shawn M. Adkins are prosecuting the cases on behalf of the government. The Drug Enforcement Administration; the Bureau of Alcohol; Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives; the Marshall County Drug and Violent Crimes Task Force, a HIDTA-funded initiative; the West Virginia State Police; the Tyler County Sheriff’s Office; the Wetzel County Sheriff’s Office; the Sistersville Police Department; the Paden City Police Department; and the New Martinsville Police Department investigated. The Columbus, Ohio, Police Department Gang Crimes Unit assisted in the cases.

The investigation was funded in part by the federal Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force Program (OCDETF). The OCDETF program supplies critical federal funding and coordination that allows federal and state agencies to work together to successfully identify, investigate, and prosecute major interstate and international drug trafficking organizations and other criminal enterprises.

Senior U.S. District Judge Frederick P. Stamp, Jr. presided.