homepage logo

Candidates Begin Filing For Offices Countywide

By Staff | Jan 13, 2016

MIDDLEBOURNE Candidates started filing Monday for Tyler County offices.

The filing period for countywide offices is between Monday and Jan. 30.

According to the Tyler County Clerk’s office, these people registered as candidates when filing started Monday for countywide office before the Tyler Star News’ press deadline this week. The primary election will be May 10.

The newspaper will publish the names of other candidates in subsequent editions as they file for office.

Tyler County Sheriff Earl P. “Bob” Kendle Jr. and Mary Dotson, incumbent, have filed as a candidate for Division 1 magistrate, a non-partisan race.

Tyler County Sheriff Chief Deputy Dean Pratt has filed as a Repblican candidate for sheriff.

Michael Griffin has filed as candidates for Division II magistrate, a non-partisan race.

Griffin, the incumbent, is seeking re-election.

Jack Hayes, the incumbent, and Michael Galluzzo have filed as Republican candidates for assessor.

Teresa “Terry” Hamilton, the incumbent, has filed as a Republican candidate for county clerk. D. Luke Furbee, the incumbent, has filed as a Republican candidate for prosecutor.

Candy L. Warner, the incumbent, has filed as a Republican candidate for circuit clerk.

A county commission seat will also be on the May 10 ballot.

Non-partisan races include a seat on the county’s board of education, surveyor and as conservation district supervisor. Also, state office holders and legislators will be running announcing their intentions and filing for office in the days and weeks ahead.

As yet, no Democrats have filed as primary candidates in Tyler County, according to the county clerk’s office.

Candidates who file are asked to contact the Tyler Star News so arrangements can be made to prepare candidate profiles for a later edition. The newspaper’s phone number is 304-652-4141 or via email, which works best, at mlayton@tylerstarnews.com