homepage logo

Hizer selected to receive WVSSAC Scholarship

By Staff | Apr 29, 2015

Four West Virginia High School students were selected by the Board of Directors of the West Virginia Secondary School Activities Commission to receive $1,000.00 higher education scholarships. These awards are sponsored by the WVSSAC.

The recipients were selected from 13 applicants throughout the State of West Virginia and represent the five administrative districts of the WVSSAC.

The winners were Kayla Hizer from Paden City High School (District 1), Brady Watson from Frankfort High School (District 2), Ally Brown from Scott High School (District 3), Arin Shatto from Ripley High School (District 4), and there were no application received from District 5.

The candidates for the scholarships were judged on character, leadership, participation, citizenship, scholarship, and financial need. In order to apply, they needed at least a 2.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and a minimum ACT composite score of 16.

Only sons and daughters of coaches, bandmasters, activities directors, athletic directors, or administrators were eligible for this scholarship. The recipient must have participated in a minimum of two different activities sponsored by the WVSSAC during the 6th and 7th semesters of enrollment in a WVSSAC member school.

The Scholarship Program is one of two programs sponsored by the West Virginia Secondary School Activities Commission to honor academic achievement by students involved in extracurricular activities.

The Board of Directors members from each administrative district will make the presentations at each school’s annual awards ceremony.

The Commission’s motto is “Academics Plus Activities Equal Partners in Education.”