homepage logo

TSA Chapter ‘three-peats’ as Outstanding Chapter

By Staff | Apr 23, 2014

WV Outstanding TSA Chapter - Tyler Consolidated High School TSA Chapter

Technology students from all over West Virginia converged on Cedar Lakes in Ripley, March 27-29 to participate and compete in the West Virginia TSA (Technology Student Association) 2013/14 State Conference. As has become the norm for Tyler Consolidated, the large contention of students sent by the school excelled at competition, earned several prestigious awards and will be sending 18 of those students on to the National Conference for competition. The Tyler Consolidated TSA Chapter also came home with the Outstanding Chapter award for the third straight year.

“The 40 students that competed at Cedar Lakes from Tyler Consolidated represented our school and county extremely well,” said TSA advisor J.C. Kimble. “Eighteen students have qualified to compete in the National Conference which will take place at the end of June in Washington D.C.”

The students who placed first in a competition and qualified to compete in Washington, D.C. are as follows: Dylan Reynolds for CAD 2D Architecture and Architectural Renovation; Ryan Dalrymple for Architectural Renovation; Carly Fletcher for Architectural Renovation and Fashion Design; Megan Carpenter for Fashion Design; Sydney Reed for Fashion Design; Corey Wells for Open Source Software Development; Noah Garrison for Open Source Software Development; Swen Scheidemantel for Open Source Software Development; Julian Work for Open Source Software Development and System Control Technology and Caroline Bantug for Promotional Graphics.

Kamron Milhoan for System Control Technology and Webmaster; Levi Hudson for System Control Technology and Webmaster; Josh Smith for Webmaster; Zach Bonner for Webmaster; Elisha Brown for Video Game Design; Kris Lashbrook for Video Game Design; and John Lancaster for Video Game Design.

Despite having eighteen students win first place awards in various competitions, several other students were awarded second and third place in more numerous events. The event teams from Tyler Consolidated that placed second are Megan Carpenter and Sydney Yoho in Biotechnology Design; Ryan Dalrymple in CAD 2D Architecture; Ty Klages in CAD 3D Architecture; Eddie Kurfis and Evan Davis in CNC; Megan Carpenter in Desktop Publishing; Blake Carpenter, Thomas Swartz, Caroline Bantug, and Josh Pelikan in Digital Video Production; Eddie Kurfis in Dragster Design; Evan Davis and Eddie Kurfis in Problem Solving; Dylan Romine in Mousetrap Vehicle; Caroline Bantug in Photographic Technology; Megan Carpenter in Promotional Graphics; Ty Klages in Technical Sketching & Application; and Shayla Griffey, Maddie Hayes, Makayla Brown, and Jenny Lynch in Webmaster.

The students who received third place awards were Dylan Reynolds and Dylan Romine in CNC; Hillary Casteel in Desktop Publishing; Ryan Dalrymple, Dragster Design; Josh Pelikan and Caroline Bantug, Debate; Dylan Reynolds, Julian Work, Problem solving; and Sydney Yoho in Essays.

“We would like to thank the entire faculty that has helped and supported the students while we were preparing for this trip,” Kimble said. “The group would also like to thank the Board of Education for their continued support for the Tyler Consolidated High School TSA Club.”

Technology Student Association is a student organization devoted exclusively to the needs of students interested in technology. The TSA fosters personal growth, leadership and opportunities in technology, innovation, design and engineering. Members apply and integrate science, technology, engineering and mathematics concepts through co-curricular activities, competitive events and related programs.

This year’s National conference will be held at the Gaylord National in Washington D.C., June 27 – July 1.