homepage logo

Paden City voters to elect mayor

By Staff | Apr 23, 2014

The City of Paden City will hold an election on June 5. A mayor and one member of council from each ward will be elected.

Three candidates have filed for the office of mayor: incumbent John D. Hopkins, Incumbent, William B. Fox, Cindy L. Slider.

A race also exists for the Third Ward Seat between Eileen Smittle, Jeff Stewart, and Bob Postlethwait. Joel Davis III is the only person to file in the Second Ward. No one filed for the First Ward position.

The last day to register to vote in this election is May 16. You must go to the courthouse in the county in which you reside to register.

The first day that Absentee Ballot Applications could be received by the Recorder was March 13.

Early voting will be held at city hall from May 16 to June 2 during regular office hours: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday; and 8 a.m. to noon, Thursday.

On election day, polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. Polling places are as follows: First Ward, former middle school cafeteria; Second Ward, city building in the council chambers; and Third Ward, Paden City Volunteer Fire Company hall.