homepage logo

Votes are in for local elections

By Staff | Jun 12, 2013


Though running unopposed for mayor of Friendly, Jerry Hayes is tied with Incumbent Mayor Bonnie Hostuttler, whose five write-in votes matched his five ballots. Other write-ins for mayor included: William Shephard, four; Darla Steele, three; Brent Cox, one; and Junior Ice, one.

Running unopposed and receiving 15 votes, Susan Stoneking maintains her position as recorder. Ruth Dailey, Darla Steele, and Debbie Ice received one write-in each for the recorder position.

Totals for unopposed candidates were as follows: Councilwoman Betty Starkey, 19; Councilwoman Janice Duff, 18; Councilwoman Sherri Travis, 18; Councilwoman Darla Steele, 15; and Councilwoman Sharon LeMasters, 16, takes the seat formerly occupied by William Shephard. Mike Ice, Brent Cox, and Cindy Jones received one write-in each for council positions.


Running unopposed and receiving 82 votes, Charles Delauder will become the next mayor of Middlebourne. Totals for write-ins included: Chad Swiger, 19; Pat Hess, 1. Running unopposed and receiving 96 votes, Suzanne Farhatt maintains her position as recorder.

Totals for council candidates were as follows: Incumbent Councilman Doug Doak, 75; Incumbent Councilwoman Vera Henthorn, 66; Incumbent Councilman Rodney Miller, 63; Incumbent Councilman Dave Myers, 56; Steve Roberts, 49; Robert Jones, 49; Gary Patterson, 40; Mike Thomas, 27; Susan Pelikan, 27; and Bradley Hayes, 12. There was one write-in for Pam Farhatt.

All of the incumbent council members will keep their positions. The fifth seat is still undetermined as Robert Jones and Steve Roberts tied with 49 votes each. That outcome could be determined when council canvasses the results June 17.

Paden City

Former councilman John Staggers will return to Paden City Council representing the Second Ward as he garnered 50 votes in Thursday’s election. His competitors, Joel Davis III and former councilman and former mayor William B. Fox got 39 and 38 votes, respectively.

Paden City residents also agreed to a charter amendment on the ballot that will allow the town’s Chief of Police to live outside of the municipality. A total of 113 voted for the amendment while 80 opposed the measure.

Totals for unopposed candidates were as follows: Recorder Tamra Billiter, 173; First Ward Councilman Jim Richmond, 38; and Third Ward Councilman Dan Probst, 26.