homepage logo

Paden City Foundation awards scholarships

By Staff | Jun 20, 2012

2012 Paden City Foundation Scholars

A capacity crowd in Bob Burton gymnasium was witness to the graduation ceremonies of the Class of 2012 of Paden City High School on May 26. In addition to the traditional speeches, the awarding of diplomas and the turning of tassels, scholarship presentations were made by the Paden City Foundation to 15 of the graduates. The scholarship funds are managed by the Foundation and established by individuals and organizations. The first Foundation scholarships were awarded in 1987.

This year’s Foundation scholarship recipients are: Ralph Ice Memorial: Keith Butcher, Bob Bowers Memorial: Dylan Crawford, Paden City Lions Club: Lauran Laugh, VFW Post 6327: Dominique Craft, Paden City Alumni Assoc: Jamie Billiter, Erika “Hank” Bennett Memorial: Geoffrey Bidwell, PCHS Class of 1961: Amanda Heasley, Hannah Croasmun Memorial: Brandon Howell and Amanda Heasley, Sheldon S. Buck Memorial: Taylor Parons, Judge Craig Broadwater Memorial: Kyle Byers, Owen and Hope McKay Memorial: Sabrina Midcap, Dr. R.F. and Libby Miller Family: Sheylanna Frazier, the Wildcat Boosters: Kyle Staton, Jane Martin Memorial: Timothy Drain and the Gary and Ruby McWilliams Family Scholarship: Taylor Still.

The Paden City Foundation also recognized the service and retirement of Rhoda Fitzsimmons, math teacher at PCHS and her contributions to enhancing the math curriculum at the school. Cork Bowen was also paid recognition for his service on the Wetzel County Board of Education in a position vacated by Amy Diffenbauch earlier this year. The Foundation also thanked all the members of the Board of Education and the new superintendent, Diane Watt and encouraged continued cooperation with the county, school and students.