homepage logo

TSA chapter wins state title

By Staff | Apr 18, 2012

Recently, the Tyler Consolidated Technology Student Association (TSA) Chapter took the title of The Most Outstanding Chapter (First Place Overall, High School Division) and will be sending 19 students to the National Technology Student Association Competition in Nashville, Tenn. on June 21.

On March 22, 53 area students traveled to Cedar Lakes in Ripley, W.Va. with their advisor, J.C. Kimble, to compete in the WV State TSA competition. The students spent three days in intense competition in 30 separate events ranging from creating graphic designs to flying model airplanes. They also presented projects they have been working on since September to qualified judges and competed with eight other high schools.

Kimble stated, “I am very proud of the students. They started working in September and all of their hard work paid off. This is the first time in Tyler Consolidated history that students have placed 1st place overall. We have finished 2nd for the last five years, so it is a great accomplishment for these students.”

The first place winners attending the national competition include: Riley Warner and Noah Garrison- 1st place Animatronics; Corey Wells, Allison Wable, Chris Postlethwait, and Victoria Shepherd- 1st place Architectural Model; Keri Suter and Logann Long- 1st place Biotechnology Design; Daniel Eddy- 1st place CAD 3D Engineering; Carissa Beaver, Brandon Frey, and Daniel Eddy- 1st place Construction Renovation; Swayde Carpenter, Blake Carpenter, and Keri Suter- 1st place Digital Video Production; Brandon Frey- 1st place Dragster Design; Tom Keller- 1st place Manufacturing Prototype; Dylan Romine- 1st place Mousetrap Vehicle; Kaitlyn Neff and Brandon Collins- 1st place Music Production; Caroline Bantug- 1st place Promotional Graphics; Caroline Bantug, Daniel Eddy, and Brandon Collins- 1st place Tech Bowl; Hunter LeMasters- 1st place Transportation Modeling; and Meggie Warner, Allison Wable, and Carissa Beaver- 1st place Webmaster.

Other state winners include: Riley Housel- 2nd place CAD 3D Engineering; Makayla Clegg- 2nd place Career Comparisons; Hunter LeMasters- 2nd place Desktop Publishing; Chase Cornell- 2nd place Dragster Design; Justin Carpenter and Torrye Cline- 2nd place Engineering Design; Alexis Ebert- 2nd place Essays on Technology; Brandon Collins- 2nd place Extemporaneous Presentation; Randy Eastham- 2nd place Flight Endurance; Scott Sole, Randy Eastham, and Allison Wable- 2nd place Manufacturing Prototype; Caroline Bantug- 2nd place Photographic Technology; Kerstyn Cline- 2nd place Promotional Graphics; Corey Wells- 2nd place SciVis.

Also, Meggie Warner- 3rd place Desktop Publishing; Dylan Reynolds- 3rd place Dragster Design; Keri Suter, Swayde Carpenter, and Sydney Yoho- 3rd place Fashion Design; Evan Davis- 3rd place Flight Endurance; Keri Suter- 3rd place Photographic Technology; Alaina McCoy- 3rd place Promotional Graphics; and Swayde Carpenter and Tom Keller- 3rd place Structural Engineering.