homepage logo

Three file for mayoral race

By Staff | Jan 25, 2012

William "Bill" Rice, Mark Walker and Dave Fox

When the window closed for residents to file for municipal office in the City of Sistersville, three candidates had declared their intent in the mayoral race.

William “Bill” Rice and Mark Walker will join Incumbent David Bryan Fox in a bid for the Office of Mayor.

The ballot also includes contested races for council seats in the second and fourth wards. Mitch A. Corley and Ann Munoz will vie for the position in the Second Ward; Julie Schleier and Steven Wayne will compete for a four-year term in the Fourth Ward.

The remaining candidates will run unopposed: First Ward, Curtis Heintzman; Third Ward, Jason Hood; and Fourth Ward, Dave Dietrich.

Anyone who wishes to run as a write-in candidate may file in the Recorder’s office until Feb. 9. These names, however, will not appear on the official ballot. Candidates who have already filed have until 3 p.m. on Feb. 7 to remove their name from the ballot.

The Municipal Election will be held March 22.

Early voting will begin on March 2 at the City Building during normal business hours.

Polling locations will open at 6:30 a.m. on Election Day and will close at 7:30 p.m.

The following polling locations will be used: First Ward: Sistersville Volunteer Fire Department; Second Ward: Oxford Street Church of Christ Annex; Third Ward: City Hall; and Fourth Ward: Methodist Church

For more information, call the City Building at 304-652-6361.