homepage logo

New hires are welcomed

By Staff | Aug 31, 2011

Mr. Duane Dober, Director of Personnel for Tyler County Schools, introduced two new members of the Tyler County school system to board of education members at Tuesday evening’s regular meeting.

Abby Jo Robinson will be teaching at Tyler Co. Middle School and has a master’s degree from West Virginia University in secondary English.

Casey Wittman, a graduate of Ohio Valley University, was hired as a multi-category special education instructor. Board members welcomed the new staffers and congratulated them on their new positions.

In the superintendent’s report, Superintendent of Schools Robin Daquilante informed members several businesses had requested permission to put signage up at the football stadium.

“My understanding is, at least three businesses have called asking about placing advertising signs at our field,” explained Daquilante. “My suggestion is, if we would agree to this, the signs would have to be uniform in size and design.”

“If we could come up with a group of administrators to approve the look of the signs, that could set a standard, that might work,” said board member Ken Hunt.

“I’m opposed to it,” said board member Jimmy Wyatt. “There had been some discussion of this before (Daquilante) became superintendent, and it was not approved.”

“Let me check with some other schools, who have the signage, and see how they handle things,” suggested Daquilante. “I don’t have a problem with it, if it is done correctly.”

“There should be a way we can do this, do it right, and make it look nice,” said Hunt. “If not, we can’t do it. It would have to be done in good taste.”

The board agreed to have Daquilante investigate the pros and cons of the request and will decide the matter.

Board members approved the agreement between Mid Ohio Valley Regional Council’s Foster Grandparent Program and Tyler County Schools.

“This is an ongoing program,” said Daquilante, “We have utilized the Foster Grandparent Program for years.”

Also approved was a waiver request on Policy 2510 (dual credit courses). The board granted approval to submit the waiver to the State Board.

Approval was granted for the use of 21st Century Content Standards and Objectives (CSO’s) as well as Next Generation Content Standards and Objectives. These are programs used to quantify students’ mastery of skills.

A pass/fail grading system was approved for Freshman Seminar classes, due to the fact the course runs only six weeks.

“It makes it very difficult to compute class credit, if we grade this any other way,” explained Susan Boyles, Director of Curriculum.

Trip requests were approved for the Knights Marching Band, who will attend a competition in Elkins Sept. 10; if cancelled, the band will travel to Hurricane High School on that date.

Boreman Choir Director Matthew Jennings requested and was granted permission to take choir members to the following events: Morgantown, Sept. 23, to watch WVU Marching Band practice; Sistersville Nursing Home, Dec. 15 and May 10; Capitol Music Hall, Feb. 10, to see Wheeling Symphony Orchestra perform; and TCHS, March 7, for dress rehearsal for All-County Choir Concert.

Tyler Consolidated Middle School Cheerleaders received permission from the board to compete at the Junior OVAC Cheering Competition at Wheeling Park High School October 29.

In other requests, several parents were granted permission for their children to cross county lines to attend Tyler County Schools, or for Tyler students to attend other county schools.

Board members accepted the resignation of Ryan Jones as substitute custodian, county-wide, effective August 30.

Employments and transfers were approved for David Tucker, Jessica Stine, Judy Thoburn, Joyce Hagerty, Stephanie Landis, Amy Yeater, Annette Duke (pending CIB results),, Dianne Corrigan (pending CIB results),, Gara Griffin (pending CIB results), Ryan Jones, Linda M. Hoover, Amber Tustin, Amanda Spencer, Patrick Shepherd, and Melissa Dunham. (Board member Larry Thomas abstained on the vote for Spencer and Shepherd).

Authorization to contract with Thom Hinton to provide hosting services for school websites county wide was also approved for the 2011-2112 school year.

Payment of bills was authorized and approved by the board, which then went into executive session to set the Superintendent’s Evaluation Goals for 2011-2012 School Year, under item 2 as per the School Laws of WV 6-9A-4.

Those attending Tuesday’s meeting included Robin Daquilante, Board President Linda Hoover, members Larry Thomas, Ken Hunt, and Jimmy Wyatt. Ralph (Doc) Boone was absent from the meeting.

Also in attendance were Duane Dober, Susan Boyles, Abby Jo Robinson, and Casey Wittman.