homepage logo

Board of Education holds meeting

By Staff | May 4, 2011

Tyler County Board of Education met Tuesday, May 2 at Tyler Consolidated High School. All members were present, including Jimmy Wyatt, Ken Hunt, Karen Hoover, Ralph “Doc” Boone, Larry Thomas, and Superintendent of Schools RobinDaquilante.

The meeting was called to order by Linda Hoover and was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence. The minutes of the May 2 regular meeting were read and approved.

Ron Nichols, RESA V representative, spoke to board members and reported on the many services the Regional Education Service Agency provided to Tyler County in the past year.

RESA V performs many services and works with DHHR, law enforcement , higher education, the state fire commission, WorkForce WV, county health departments, county school systems, and Family Resource Network, as well as other community organizations. This past year, RESA V provided services in the areas of adult education, cooperative purchasing, adolescent health initiative, technical assistance, and environmental training in Tyler County.

“We are pretty much involved in every aspect of the community,” Nichols commented. Nichols noted that this summer RESA V would be offering a course, “Seven Habits of Highly Effective People.”

“This is my last formal visit to the Tyler County Board of Education,” said Nichols, who is retiring. “I would like to say I’ve enjoyed my association with Tyler County. This school system is one of the best kept secrets in West Virginia,” he added.

After the presentation was concluded, board members thanked Mr. Nichols for his service to the county and the school system.

Superintendent Robin Daquilante next addressed the board, noting that Mr. Bob Jones was selected to be initiated as an honory Knight of the Golden Horseshoes in Charleston. She noted that this is a very high honor for a history teacher to receive from the state.

Daquilante also discussed grant funding the SALT Club had applied for through Stealey-Greene for the beautification of the soccer grounds. “Stealey-Greene requested that the project be done in stages, so the grant funding could be broken down and it wouldn’t be so costly,” she said. The board approved re-submitting the proposal with changes.

The board also approved Tyler County School Icy Conditions and Emergencies Plan, as well as tentatively approving the date for 2012 graduation, Sunday, May 20. Board participants will be selected at a later date.

Mr. Jeff Davis spoke at some length to board members concerning the 2011-2012 budget, covering changes made in the preliminary report. The budget will be voted on for approval at the next board meeting. The budget appears in Tyler Star News for publication for two weeks prior to finalization, Davis noted.

The board approved adoption of Homeless Children and Youth Procedures, which is a state-mandated program designed to aid in attendance for children who may be displaced from their homes. Melinda Walton presented the information to board members regarding the procedures. To date, Tyler County has 43 children who qualify for the program. The program works to keep children in their current school and provides free lunches for homeless/displaced students.

In other matters, Tyler County Prevention Partnership was granted permission to place a wrecked car on school property in conjunction with TCHS prom, as a warning measure against drunk driving.

Tyler County board members also voted to approve the TCHS 2011-2012 wrestling schedule as well as the TCMS 2011 football schedule.

Trip requests were approved for National Junior Honor Society, Mary Lynn Rouse’s Sistersville Elementary School third grade class, and one student from TCMS to attend the Young Writers Celebration in Charleston.

Resignations were accepted from Connie Matheny Vincent and Carolyn Cantor.

Several employments and/or transfers were approved by the board including: Gary Hamilton, Diane Stewart, Julie Williamson, Jim Slider, Joe Smith, Carl Weekley, Kenny Thomas, Bill Minger, Mike Neff and Martin Parrish as substitute bus operators; Kay Dillon, Aundra McMullen, Ryan Jones, Joe Kester, II, and Gary Denning, substitute custodians; Shawna Griffin, Michelle Forester, Sharon Thomas, Cindy White and Kimberly Wilson, substitute secretaries; Tara Templeton, substitute school nurse; and several other positions.

The board then called an executive session to discuss a personnel matter. Those attending the meeting included: Jimmy Wyatt, Ken Hunt, Linda Hoover, Larry Thomas, Ralph “Doc” Boone, Robin Daquilante, Ron Nichols, Jeff Davis and Melinda Walton.