homepage logo

First Federal celebrates academics

By Staff | Apr 20, 2011

First Federal Savings Bank sponsored the 33rd Annual Academic Awards Ceremony and reception to honor students in grades 5-12 in all Tyler County Schools and Paden City Schools.

The first of two ceremonies was held on April 7 for students in grades 5-8; and the second ceremony April 14, for students in grades 9-12. The ceremonies were held at Tyler Consolidated Middle/High School. Students with the highest grades achieved in their class will be recognized for their academic excellence.

Criteria used to determine participants will be based on the following: top 15 percent of the class; all 4.0 grade point average students; and grades calculated at the first semester grading period.

J. Michael Myer, executive editor of the Wheeling News-Register, served as the master of ceremonies for both ceremonies. Awards were presented by Stan Kiser, president of First Federal Savings Bank.

First Federal began the partnership in 1979 when members of the financial institution’s board of directors chose to honor academics in a way similar to what already was being done for athletic achievements.

This year, nine seniors were inducted into the Hall of Fame for having been selected to attend the ceremonies each year since becoming eligible as fifth-graders. They included Jaclyn Clark, Rheanna Foley, Heather Suter, Ethan Garrison, Christopher Brown, B.J. Eastham, Tyler Lemasters, Bethany Heintzman, and Ashley Pfohl.

Their names will be added to perpetual plaques that hang at both TCHS and PCHS, recognizing all Hall of Fame students.

Other students recognized during the awards ceremonies follow.

A.I. Boreman

Elementary School

Fifth Grade: Jesse Doak, Cheyenne Ferrell, Eli Henthorn, Makenzie Kimble, Hannah Maxey, Remington Miller, Amanda Reynolds, Joralda Rice, Oceanna Smith, Theodore Stackpole, Scotlynn Straight and Autumn Wells.

Paden City

Fifth Grade: Aubrey Neff, Emily Ott, Hannah Quigley, Shelby Schultheis, Michaela Shuman and Kyle Stackpole.

Sixth Grade: Alexandria Glover, Alexia Hernandez, Hayden Hizer and Wesley Smith.


Fifth Grade: Andy Booher, Colby Buchanan, Belle Camerlin, Luke Daugherty, Josh Frum, Niko Glover and Mark Wilson.

Tyler Consolidated

Middle School

Sixth Grade: Hanna Ankrom, Jenna Archer, Mindy Bell, Makailia Brown, Caleigh Eidel, Shayla Griffey, Chad Hamilton, Matalyn Hayes, Macy Long, Bailee Longwell, Jennifer Lynch, Devann McCoy, Megan Miller, Davi Stanley, Vanessa Templeton, Seminole Weekley and Daniel Zarb Cousin.

Seventh Grade: Adam Cooper, Kyle Frum, Scott Gorby, Brannon Jones, Jessica Kimble, Jasmine Kyle, Marisha Morris, Marcus Nichols, Hannah Roberts, Katlyn Seckman, Lacey Seckman, Kaleb Tanley, Brittany Weekley, Hogan Wells, Sydney White, Justin Williams and Julian Work.

Eighth Grade: Alexander Booher, Brandy Boyd, Elisha Brown, Aryn Carpenter, Danny Cochran, Daniel Grimm, Taylor Hess, Allison Keller, Jonathan Lancaster, David Litten, Sierra Mace, Bryanna Munoz, Lillian Orr, Joshua Smith, Megan Wilson, Breanna Yeater and Sydney Yoho.

Paden City High School

Seventh Grade: Logan Carroll, Mitchell Cooper, Taylor Cosper and Deryn McCardle.

Eighth Grade: Craig Allen, Victoria Anderson, Graeson Baker, Mallory Estel, Haley Hizer, Kayla Hizer, Megan Pierce, Carlyn Slider and Hannah Stanley.

Freshmen: Adam Croasman, Josie Fox and Jennifer Hickman.

Sophomores: John Bates, Drew Bidwell, Logan Cosper, Jefferson Palmer and Lynnsie Parsons.

Juniors: Jamie Billiter, Dominique Craft, Amanda Heasley and Taylor Still.

Seniors: Bethany Arnett, Jessica Billiter, Chiara DiLeo, Katie Kline and Joni Myers.

Tyler Consolidated High School

Freshmen: Caroline Bantug, Austin Blizzard, Hillary Casteel, Myah Charkawi, Amanda Dawson, Carly Fletcher, Macy Frey, Noah Garrison, Chelsea Kehrer, Sophia Kinnard, Kali Mead, Jasmine Moore, Joshua Pelikan, Sydney Reed, Dylan Reynolds, Veronica Rine, Hope Stewart, Noah Warner and Corey Wells.

Sophomores: Isaiah Casenelli, Makayla Clegg, Torrye Cline, Brandon Collins, Samantha Collins, Randall Eastham, Amber Eddy, Daniel Eddy, Brandon Frey, Darren Heintzman, Katie Hoyes, Jason Huffman, Stephanie Kelley, Darrin Lemasters, Haylea Lemasters, Martina Parrish, Allister Seckman, Danielle Seckman, Lauren Seckman, Carle Stewart, Devon Thompson, Ashley Watson and Shay Yonley.

Juniors: Carissa Beaver, Sarah Cambell, Austin Carpenter, Brookie Clegg, Alexis Ebert, Shannon Forrester, Karlie Hilpert, Samantha Jones, Alaina McCoy, Montana Morris, Kaitlyn Neff, David Powers, Adriane Rine, McKenzie Rose, Marley Snider, Keri Suter, Meggie Warner and Tara Weese.

Seniors: Christopher Brown, Jaclyn Clark, William Eastham, Cody Eddy, Rheanna Foley, Ethan Garrison, Isaac Graham, Mallory Hammond, Bethany Heintzman, Brice Kehrer, Tyler Lemasters, Emily Moore, Ashley Pfohl, Madeline Schlabowski, Joseph Semple, Kailyn Smith, Heather Suter, Jeremy Van Der Verren and Hannah West.