homepage logo

Band rates ‘Grand Champion’

By Staff | Oct 6, 2010

Tyler Consolidated High School Silver Knight Marching Band

For the second time in as many years the Tyler Consolidated High School Silver Knight Marching Band returned from the Sissonville Invitational Band Show as Grand Champions.

“It was great, we were all excited,” said band director, Wayne Smith. “The kids did very, very well and I’m so proud of all of them.”

The Knight band competed in a field of 12 competing bands from around the state and placed first in their class with Nicholas County coming in second and Poca third.

The Silver Knights attained the grand champion award with St. Marys as the first runner-up, and Greenbrier East, second.

In class awards, the Knights received first place band, first place drums, first place music, first place marching, second place general effect, and third place field commander. Amanda Goodfellow, trumpet, was awarded outstanding soloist in her class.

“I was very happy for the drumline,” Smith said. “This is their first, first place award and they were ecstatic. They always place in the top three, but to get the top award was very special for them, especially when we were the only band their without a drum instructor. It was great.”

In the win, the Tyler Consolidated band also defeated all the bigger bands in the open class including St. Albans, Greenbrier East, Winfield and Scott.

Also competing at the show were Lincoln County, Valley-Wetzel, and South Charleston. The host band, Sissonville and the Sissonville Middle School Bands performed exhibition shows.

Members of the Knights Marching Band are Feild Commander: Hannah West. Trombone: Alissa Taylor, Josh Pelikan, Lucas Houle. Flute: Adriane Rine, Amber Eddy, Ashley Bungard, Deidra Boor, Shannon Forrester, Shelby Billings. Clarinet: Ashley Watson, Sarah Mays, Shayla Jones. Alto Saxaphone: Charlie McNees, Grace Rine, Joey Wilcox, Kaitlyn Neff, Nicholas Morris, Riley Housel, Sarah Nething, Stephanie Kelley. Tenor Saxaphone: Zach Pelikan. Trumpet: Amanda Goodfellow, Angel Kyle, Carle Stewart, Cody Eddy, Dan Grimm, David Litten, Martina Parrish. Baritone: Chad Brightwell. Tuba: Charlie Hamilton, Nick Orr. Snare Drum: Brandon Collins, Daniel Howell. Quads: Evan Gover. Bass Drum: Noah Garrison, Timmy Johnson, Tyler Blizzard. Aux Percussion: Caroline Bantug, Hannah Thomas, Kathy Hicks. Manager: Molly Rine.