homepage logo

Elks honor local students

By Staff | May 5, 2010

STUDENTS OF THE YEAR — Pictured, form left, is Andrew VanCamp, Emily Thomas, Christopher Deaton of Elks Lodge #333, Dylan Reynolds and Hope Stewart. Deaton recognized the four as “Students of the Year” for 2010.

On April 28, members of Elks Lodge #333 in Sistersville honored a group of students during their annual awards banquet.

Twenty-four Tyler County students and their parents attended the 5th annual event. The junior teenagers honored include: Caroline Bantug, Austin “Tyler” Blizzard, Sophia Kinnard, Dylan Reynolds, Hope Stewart, J.P. Flesher, Amanda Dawson, Ryan Dalrymple, Veronica “Grace” Rine, Joshua Ruble, Brooke Snyder and Ryley Warner. The teenagers honored were: Chelsea Wells, George Hilvers, Christy Jones, Curtis Romine, Emily Thomas, Spencer Kinnard, Christine Keplinger, Dustin Snider, Rachel Roberts, Andrew Van-Camp, Nicole Stinespring and Alex Jones.

Four students were also honored as students of the year for 2010. They were, Hope Stewart, Dylan Reynolds, Emily Thomas and Andrew Van-Camp.

The Elks also recognized students from Tyler County who for other achievements. Adam Cross was honored for earning his Eagle Scout. He is a member of BSA Troop 153.

Additionally, Madison DeVaughn and George Tennant were recognized for placing at the Mid-Atlantic Regional Soccer Shoot in Carlisle, Pa. DeVaughn and Tennant placed 1st and 2nd respectively.

The Elks Lodge would like to thank the faculty of Tyler Consolidated Middle and High SChools, the Tyler Star News, lodge officers from Sistersville Elks Lodge #333, Riverboat Lounge Committee and the lodge cooks and volunteers for their help.