Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | SUBMIT News | Home RSS

Local Future Farmers of America Organizations Reap Awards at States

July 18, 2018
BY LAUREN MATTHEWS - Editor ( , Tyler Star News

The West Virginia FFA state convention was held this past weekend, and local chapters reaped the awards of hard work. Notably, Pine Grove FFA's land judging team won the state championship, while Tyler County FFA took home first place in Parliamentary Procedure. Pine Grove FFA's land judging team is made up of Savannah Tedrow, Makayla Floyd, Rachel Bates, and Tommy Shannon. Pine Grove FFA also took home third place in the homesite competition.

Tyler County FFA's top Parliamentary Procedure team is made up of Jonus Glover, Creed Ammons, David Booher, Nick Spencer, Lunden Wagner, and Lexi Helmick. Tyler FFA's land judging team also had a fifth place combined score. The team was made up of Creed Ammons, Madison Craven, Lexi Helmick, and Nick Spencer. Tyler County FFA's Jace Glover, PJ Wright, and Draven Nichols were honored as WV State FFA degree recipients, while David Booher was proud to be elected Northwestern Region Vice President for the WV FFA Association.

Tyler FFA's Creed Ammons also tried his hand at zero turn tractor driving.

Article Photos

Tyler County FFA’s first place Parliamentary Procedure team. From left are Jonus Glover, Creed Ammons, David Booher, Nick Spencer, and Lunden Wagner. Not pictured is Lexi Helmick.

Pine Grove FFA reported the following individual honors: Savannah Tedrow, seventh place Homesite Individual; Makayla Floyd, eighth place Land Judging Individual; and Tommy Shannon, 10th place Homesite Individual and sixth place Land Judging Individual.

Pine Grove FFA's WV State FFA degree recipients are as follows: George Brown, Jenna Dallison, James Haught, Colby Kinkade, Nicholas Leek, Richard Leek, Travis Leek, Gavin Morris, Bodee Scyoc, Tyler Stoneking, and Savannah Tedrow.

Hundred FFA reported "a great week" at the 90th Annual West Virginia FFA State Convention. The chapter received a plaque for second place Regional Parliamentary team. Also, Chalea Cottrill received the WV FFA Alumni Scholarship, and three members received their WV State FFA degrees - Katherine Henderson, Alex Britton, and Preston Kuhn.

Magnolia FFA reported the following WV State FFA degree recipients: William Nice, Cameron Stillwagoner, Josh Arrick, Tyler White, Kameron Melott, Brandon Lasure, and Curtis Tedrow.

Magnolia FFA's Clayton Young also participated in the tractor driving contest.

Magnolia FFA also reported that Devann Fox was honored as an FFA American Degree candidate; she also retired her state officer duties as the 2017-2018 Northwestern Region Vice-President.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web